LAVASOFT Ad Aware got a Facelift!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Atul88, Mar 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jjc225

    jjc225 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Posts:
    251
    Interestingly, with regard to Ad-Aware 10, free is of course free. But there are two other versions. Ad-Aware Personal Security is $12 a year, while Ad-Aware Pro Security is $36 a year, with nice discounts for multiple year subscriptions. But why the big gap in price between Personal and Pro? I guess Personal does not have the firewall. Anyway, for what you get I guess Personal is the best deal.
     
  2. iforget

    iforget Guest



    Yes the key worked for me, i clicked on info, activate, entered number.
    Has anyone noticed the Malware Sandbox Emulator doing anyting?
    They say its all done in the background with no user intervention
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2012
  3. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,976
    I have a key for last year's product "Ad-Aware Internet Security Pro" although for some reason I thought it did not come with a firewall. Anyone know if that key will work in one of this year's products?
     
  4. khanyash

    khanyash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    2,112
    Getting free version this way, I see safe browsing under advanced protection in main GUI & settings enabled too with free version here, is it available with free version?
     
  5. iforget

    iforget Guest


    yep safe browsing under advanced protection in the main GUI is enabled
     
  6. carat

    carat Guest

    I can't believe it - why do they promote a free version if it's impossible to install a free version? :gack: That's really idiotic ...
     
  7. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Interesting... According to Softpedia, Ad-Aware is ad-supported. Kind of ironic for an ad-aware security application. :D

    Can anyone confirm, if it's in fact ad supported?
     
  8. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    986
    Since Lavasoft made an agreement with the Adware company "WhenU SaveNow", some years ago (to not scan SaveNow adwares), it isn't ironic at all.
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,555
    Don't forget, Lavasoft (Ad-Aware) is not the same company it once was.
    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/11/11/lavasoft_has_new_owners/
     
  10. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    986
    Thanks for the link. It's a good idea to read the article.

    In fact seems that "is not the same company it once was"; it is worst now...:
     
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Yeah, I was aware of that. There was a talk about it before @ this forum, sometime ago.

    The irony is the name itself. lol
     
  12. shakethebabyass

    shakethebabyass Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    Plays well with Windows 8. One of the few products not in beta form that I have had no issues with on my Windows 8 Consumer Preview test machine.

    Loving the new speeds it brings, the FREE of course and the interface is nice.

    Keep up the good work and I may use it on a couple machines later on. For now, still a Norton fan boy.
     
  13. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    its a "free" trial product......i guess.....:cool:
     
  14. carat

    carat Guest

    It's a "free" ad-supported Ad-Aware trial ;) They should mention that on lavasoft.com as well ...

    Hehe :thumb:
     
  15. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
  16. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    2.5/5o_O that's bad!!!:'( :'(
     
  17. Had never get a good protection from LAVASOFT Ad Aware free version last time I've tried and the name itself is relevant. Oh boy, chuckles....
     
  18. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,704

    Funny thing is the reviewer ran into the same error myself and many others have had, with the blue screen every reboot. Probably the "no irp stack" error.

    I'm surprised they didn't fix that bug prior to releasing the software.
     
  19. carat

    carat Guest

    Bottom line:

    ;)
     
  20. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    Currently happy with ESET 5.
    And if i have to use free, I guess i will always go for Avast!!:D :D
     
  21. carat

    carat Guest

    I tried it again and the BSOD is still there :thumbd:

    There is another bug: If you change the realtime settings from "autoquarantine" to "prompt user" your browser will be killed when downloading eicar.com :( Another glitch: The Ad-Aware window is always maximized on start-up, that's really annoying :thumbd:

    Bye-bye Ad-Aware ...
     
  22. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Is the new ad-aware compatible with other security programs?
     
  23. carat

    carat Guest

    No because it's realtime Antivirus & Antispyware now :doubt:
     
  24. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have no problem downloading eicar.com and Internet Explorer is still alive. The only things that happened was that Ad-Aware asked me what I want to do with the suspected file (I selected quarantine) and IE wondered where the file went since it was no longer in temp internet files folder.

    I don't get any Ad-Aware window when I log in.
     
  25. Cecilia

    Cecilia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    Sweden
    For those of you that don't want to have the Pro version during the trial period, it should be possible to click the "Activate" button in the window saying that the trial period will expire in xx days and then fill in the requested information. A key for the free version will be sent to you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.