LAVASOFT Ad Aware got a Facelift!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Atul88, Mar 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  2. carat

    carat Guest

    Well done :thumb:
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    New feature filled versions are growing like mushrooms after the rain these days. I mean just look at how many new anti-malware apps with almost full functionality have been released lately.

    What engine is it used in Ad-aware these days? The anti-spyware was rather crappy some time ago and rarely anyone used it. So what do they use now? I don't think it's their own technology...
     
  4. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I think they use Vipre in one version and Gdata in another- at least I think that is what they used to have. I wonder does it run well along side MBAM real time or tries to remove it?
     
  5. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    Do they use their in-house engine for protectiono_O:rolleyes:
     
  6. LS Andy

    LS Andy AV Expert

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Gothenburg
    Information about new features here

    Download here.
     
  7. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    i opted for the free version and after all the updates and stuff..........i got Ad-aware pro installed with 30day trial message popping up after every reboot.....Damn!

    Update:
    Checked on their forum and there is no separate installer for Free version , as of now, after 30days it reverts to free version. I am uninstalling it right away.....
     
  8. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I too faced same thing & uninstalled it.

    Too bad no free installer.
     
  9. Atul88

    Atul88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Posts:
    259
    Location:
    India
    So install it after 30 days..:D :D
     
  10. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Anyone tried changing the date on the system like 33 days ahead & checked if it reverted to free?
     
  11. David2041

    David2041 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Posts:
    31

    If you would like to have a look at the Free product directly please use the below serial key:
    Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 3Z9T5-EMP6Z-N8JXA-6796C-CCQXN
    Keep in mind that once you activated the Free key, you will not be able to go back to the Pro trial version. To then review the Pro, you will have to register a Pro key. The same goes for the Personal version.

    enjoy
     
  12. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    Whats this key?

    If the key is of the adaware free on your system it will not work here.

    So whats the key like?
     
  13. David2041

    David2041 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Not only for me , it should be for everyone who only wants to use the free version. Just like avg free does...
     
  14. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    The key can be system specific?

    Did you by any chance tried it on other system or tried the key reinstalling adaware?
     
  15. David2041

    David2041 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Sorry, i did not try it , i saw it at hxxp://bbs.kafan.cn/thread-1256667-1-1.html

    In Ad-Aware Free Antivirus + we are offering the users the possibility to try Ad-Aware Pro for 30 days. If you would like to have a look at the Free product directly please use the below serial key:
    Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 3Z9T5-EMP6Z-N8JXA-6796C-CCQXN
    Keep in mind that once you activated the Free key, you will not be able to go back to the Pro trial version. To then review the Pro, you will have to register a Pro key. The same goes for the Personal version.
     
  16. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    OK I am giving the key a try on my test system, lets see what happens & will report here.

    I hope it is trusted/reliable key?
     
  17. David2041

    David2041 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Posts:
    31
    Anyway , its just a key,cant do harm to your os :D
     
  18. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    350
    free version

    •Advanced detection
    Superfast antivirus engine that complements our legendary anti-spyware to offer protection without compromise.
    •Enhanced Performance
    Two engines made to work together, without conflicts or slow-downs, in one easy and superfast security solution.
    •Faster and Leaner
    Faster scans and smaller boot times with less PC footprint so you can get to play or work faster.
    •Download Protection
    Stops malware before it even hits your hard-drive.

    •Improved Heuristics Detection
    Finds and blocks unknown and emerging threats before they can harm your PC.
    •Malware Sandbox Emulator
    Rapidly analyze malware in a virtual environment so that malware is never actually executed on a user's machine.
    •Game (silent) Mode
    Allows for silent operation so you can play your games and watch your movies without being disturbed.
    •Brand New User Interface
    Redesigned from the ground-up with usability as the core principle.
     
  19. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    I Think the key question here is... Which engine do the free version use?
     
  20. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    I tried the key but its not working, invalid key.

    There is only one place to enter the key, activate the product but I think its for upgrade or purchased versions.

    Now where else I should enter the key. No other option to enter the key here. During download & install too there was no option to enter the key.

    Wasted a lot of time with this. The update took so long. After restart it mentioned new version available, downloaded & installed but still the pro version, I thought may be they issued an update to revert it to free version.
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    The free version uses Vipre coz the AV database version is the same as Vipre.

    And I guess it uses Inhouse too as mentioned in the website but no info or version number for inhouse engine in the gui.
     
  22. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    This is all very nice but how does it perform? The previous free version was slow to load, slow to update and slow to scan - IOW it was a dog *puppy*
     
  23. iforget

    iforget Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Riderville, Canada
    That key worked for me to turn it into the free version, scanning and executing tested exactly the same as Unthreat Free. The free version does have a url blocker. It uses Vipre so when its scanning or cleaning it is cpu heavy, but other wise felt light
     
  24. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    it did add some time to startup process.........but then it was full suite which i was using.............

    Ad-aware should have been looking at enhancing their reputation.......which has suffered in last 4-5 yrs....

    Sorry, but would be interested only if this thing goes.....same with ZA free firewall which comes with bundled security suite for trial.
     
  25. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    The key worked for you?

    Did you entered it into activation?

    I set the computer date to May 29 2012 & restarted the system & it was reverted to free.

    Again set the date to current & restarted the system & it was fine i.e free version.

    But yes the fw driver remains in the network adapter.
    And in the rightclick tray icons all the options of paid features are there in greyed.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.