Laptop problem with boot CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by barrystuttard, Aug 23, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. barrystuttard

    barrystuttard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    If I try to use the emergency boot CD for TI8 on my laptop PC I have a problem because the touchpad mouse doesn't work. I have no PS2 mouse socket and a USB mouse doesn't work. There don't seem to be any keyboard shortcuts. Has anyone else had this problem or found a solution? The same problem exists with Acronis Disk Director.

    Barry
     
  2. wdormann

    wdormann Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    480
    Keyboard shortcuts work fine for me. There should be no reason that you can't create an image without a mouse. Using a combination of Tab, Enter, and Alt+<Key> gets you all the functionality you need.
     
  3. barrystuttard

    barrystuttard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    The tab key is what I had missed. On first booting the mouse pointer appeared at mid screen. It let me move it a couple of inches then froze. I tabbed round the items and selected with Enter. Then the mouse pointer re-appeared and I was able to use it for the rest of the process. Seems a bit hit and miss but I can live with it. Thanks for the help.

    Barry
     
  4. jos2

    jos2 Guest

    I've had the same problem on my thinkpad laptop. No mouse support (i.e. trackpoint) when I booted from the CD. While navigation with short cuts seemed possible the response time was very slow and I was unsure if my computer was responding or not. I wrote tech support an email with the system report 4 days ago and I still have not heard any response other than the original cofirmation of receipt email. Has anyone else had this problem and found a way to address it?
     
  5. barrystuttard

    barrystuttard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Here's what I had from Acronis:

    Could you please press the F11 key when "Starting Acronis Loader" message appears and then add the words "acpi=off noapic"?

    Also Could you please download the latest updates (buld 768 and 508 for Acronis True Image 8.0 and ADDS 9.0 respectively) available at http://www.acronis.com/support/updates/ and install it? In order to do that you have to pass through the registration process at our website: www.acronis.com/registration.

    In case of failure please do the following:

    - Create bootable CD;
    - Press the F11 button when the "Starting Acronis Loader" appears;
    - Remove the 'quiet' keyword;
    - Boot the computer via the CD and write down or use digital camera to make a shot of the last output screen with special attention being paid for any error messages or warnings.

    Please note that you can use Ctrl+S/Ctrl+Q or Scroll Lock button to suspend/resume loading and Shift+PgUp/Shift+PgDn to scroll the screen manually. This information will let us investigate the problem under consideration thoroughly and provide you with a possible workaround.

    After a little practice I got the F11 suggestion to work but could neither add nor delete text in the command line. I'm waiting for a further response on what to try next though I have made progress, see above.

    Barry
     
  6. chriscalvert

    chriscalvert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I have also had issues with mouse recognition with both V7 and V8 on notebooks and PC's. Ghost doesn't have a mouse problem so I am not sure why TI does. Currently V7 build 627 works with most PC's. Can't comment on V8 yet since I am having trouble creating a bootable CD using Nero. Still under investigation by Acronis. Incidentally I am on my second V8 build because the first wanted to take 15 hours to perform a backup. TI is still a work in progress.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.