LAN Update mirror not creating directory nor files

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by MidSpeck, Jan 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MidSpeck

    MidSpeck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    I have ESET Remote Administrator Server (RAS) version 2.0.29 running on a server which has NOD32 Antivirus 3.0.566.0. NOD32 seems to be working and is set to receive updates from ESET's main Internet update servers. It is keeping itself up to date.

    I am trying to create an HTTP mirror with RAS, but no files ever show up in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Remote Administrator\Server\mirror\
    It never created the directory on its own, so I created the directory for it, but it never populated that either. I have waited for several days in case it was just being slow.

    My options:
    Server Options (using RA Console) > Updates
    Create an update mirror: Checked
    Folder to store mirrored files: mirror\
    Provide update files via internal HTTP server: Checked
    HTTP server port: 2221
    Authentication: NONE

    Am I missing something?
     
  2. Eclipse99fwb

    Eclipse99fwb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Location:
    Lakewood, CO
    I could be wrong, as I can't access my Network right now, since I dont have the admin password, to double check. The Mirror folder shouldn't be in the Eset folder, I'm almost postive it should be in the drive that you created the mirror too, (example if you using C:\, than it would be under C:\Mirror) again I'm going by memory and have no way today to double check. Also I didn't get alot of sleep so I'm bit tired and could be totally wrong. Hope this helps.
     
  3. MidSpeck

    MidSpeck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    My other LAN update servers created it in the C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.....\mirror\ folder listed above, I have not tried giving the server an absolute path to the mirror folder though, just the relative "mirror\" that it defaults to.

    Thanks for your info. Any other thoughts?

    Update: Bug: I went and tried to put in the absolute path (C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Remote Administrator\Server\mirror\) and it gave me an error message when I hit okay. I believe it said "Please enter an integer." After pressing OK, the RA Console quit. I loaded it back up and put in the absolute path with quotes, and it seemed to like that better.
    Now I'll wait and see if it populates the update mirror directory.
     
  4. MidSpeck

    MidSpeck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Update: Even after putting in the absolute path to my desired update directory, it still does not put any files in that directory. Again, the virus scanner itself on the mirror server updates, but doesn't make a copy for the HTTP mirror. What could cause this?
     
  5. MidSpeck

    MidSpeck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    I uninstalled the ESET Remote Administrator Server and then reinstalled it and set all my settings back. Then I did an "Update Now" in Server Options > Updates and it created the mirror folder where I expected and populated it a few minutes later.

    However, by uninstalling the RAS, I did lose the client information that I previously had. We'll see what comes back on its own as they connect back to the server or what I will have to manually redo.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just in case, try re-sending your license key via this form and installing it. If you had previously an Enterprise Edition license that was migrated to Business Edition, you'll need an updated license key.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.