KIS vs Avira suite

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by nixie21, Apr 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    What are the major differences between the two of these? What is the cost of both? How do they do with system resources?

    Right now I use NOD32, OA v2 w/ FW, and Prevx1 as realtime, One of these suites would replace OA and NOD, would Prevx1 be needed anymore?

    THanks for all opinions

    ** ALso the FW must be very easy to use...
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    both are good. Avira has better hueristics and in beta right now, the suite has rootkit detection and antispam. I think Avira is lighter, especially with web browsing. KIS has a good PDM. By my sig you see what I choose.
     
  3. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    Thanks,

    is either a total security solution? Run the suite real time and just use others 'on demand'?
     
  4. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    both are, the pdm in kav has the edge here by blocking some real time registry changes and other dangerous behaviours.

    BTW: v7 of kis (now in beta too) will have a new heuristic engine and very good rootkit detection from the on demand scanner.
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I would have to say both are. Trial them both and make the choice that is best for you. Ahh, make sure that choice is Avira though.:cool:
     
  6. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    What is the resources used? I know between everything I run now it has to be less!

    Thanks again
     
  7. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    I will trial Avira first just for you!:thumb:
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Here again, both are low. I dont have numbers but I personally feel Avira has the edge.
     
  9. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    From posts I have seen in threads, it leads me to believe that Avira is lighter on resources. You could always ask someone that has used both products though.
     
  10. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    Trjam - what is the total resouce usage of Avira suite for you?

    Anyone else know the KIS usage total?

    THanks
     
  11. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    Have used both and don't have totals. Am running Avira Suite beta now and very light. As someone said, we browsing no slowdown with Avira but with KIS my browsing slowed a bit. Still a good program and I might go back to it from time to time but I would take Avira which to me "feels" lighter and less bothersome in some ways.

    Gary
     
  12. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    Right now KIS 6 is using 4372 on this machine. 2 processes. :rolleyes:
     
  13. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    4372?? WOW, how can it run so low and have so many different things? AV, FW, +++++
     
  14. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    Even though it runs light in memory I will have to admit that Avira Security Suite seems to run lighter. I'm Beta testing ASS for Vista and KIS seems heaver then ASS. :eek:
     
  15. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    Well I am trying KIS first...

    I have 2 avp.exe running, 1 at 39k and 1 at 8.5k...is this normal?

    Thanks
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Wow, yep. running about 16 with the Avira suite.
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes its normal.
    it does flacuate but its genraly very low memory usage.
    atm one avp is 6mb and one is 1.5mb
    and zero cpu usage.
    to speed kis6.0 up do a full system scan so that the files have got ichecker sums.
    lodore
     
  18. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    I run a full system scan, why do i have a 38 and 8 and you have a 6.5 and 1.5 ?
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    one avp atm is 21mb and one is 4mb
    it does flacuate quite a bit.
    during a scan one of the avp can go up to 100mb and go back down once scan is finished
    the memory usage of kis6.0 depends on what your doing on your pc thou.
    also i reccomend going to settings,service,data files and unticking log non critical events to stop unneeded reports.
    if you go to service on the main interface and then go to data files you can see how much disk space the reports are taking up its probaly quite alot hence my surgestion to untick log non critcal events
    lodore
     
  20. nixie21

    nixie21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    279
    ok, i will watch it, it just has not come below 38...guess it need to give it time and see...besides that it looks good... 1 icon in the sys tray instead of 4 different programs...i like it!
     
  21. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Avira flushes out unneeded stuff to disk from time to time, so you have peak usages, which get normalized after a couple of minutes. Sitting here typing i have around 5,5MB usage for the on access guard and 240k for the mailguard.
     
  22. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I have used both and Avira is definitely lighter on my pc than KIS. I don't give a hoot what the RAM usage on them says. I define lighter by the hit on my pc's speed. This is an older P4 3.06 Ghz with HT, 2 GB of DDR 400 RAM running on a pair of 74GB Raptors in RAID 0. Avira is a dream on here, even lighter than Norton and NOD32 ran on here.
     
  23. coldplay

    coldplay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Posts:
    191
    I use antivir Personal Premium+ Prevx1 +Window Firewall+ Router and I passed leaktest so outbound control is also coverd. more over, this setup is very very light. mayber lighter if using antivir PE
     
  24. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    if you take out the prevx1 which is not needed in your setup, you will notice a significantly huge difference in your system performance.
     
  25. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543

    Trjam,

    Is the new avira suite getting a new/improved firewall ?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.