KIS not in startup list

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cnople, Mar 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cnople

    cnople Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    I recently installed KIS 2014 on my new computer (Windows 8.1) and have found that it's not in the startup list in task manager, or in the startup list in WinPatrol either. Once Windows has loaded I'll open KIS and it will tell me it's loading. Does this mean it's not actually loading on startup with Windows? It's in the settings to do so.

    I've tried re-installing, and scanned with it and Malwarebytes and there's no infection on my machine.

    Why isn't it loading on startup? I've asked on Kaspersky forum and got no reply, so I'm hoping you guys might know what's what.
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    Doesn't it run as a service? Press the Start menu button and type services.msc in the search windows. You should see the KIS service, and it should be set to Automatic.
     
  3. cnople

    cnople Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    It's in services.msc as automatic.

    Upon further investigation I've found I'm not alone with this, and it seems to be a bug in Kaspersky maybe. Others have issues with KIS not loading at startup in Windows too. If I'd known this I would have bought something else, or just stayed with free protection.
     
  4. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    With some programmes (unknown about Kaspersky) the GUI and some elements that Windows uses to receive a report show some programmes as not having started early on but at the kernel level the programme has actually started.

    Saying it another way - There is sometimes a delay between when the programme has actually started and when it reports it has started or when Windows has perceived it has started. A suggestion for more details? Have a try at the official Kaspersky Lab forum.

    Now that a search was made in their forum a thread with what may be pertinent to your installation shows some good information for you especially starting with post #6.
     
  5. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    @cnople By default Kaspersky loads a little later after the OS starts. But you can change that in the settings so that it loads as early as possible. Also Kaspersky self protection prevents defragging its files. You can temporarily disable its self protection, perform defrag and re-enable it :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.