KIS 2009 - slow web browsing

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mvdu, Oct 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    KIS slows my web browsing by about .5 second to a second or more on web pages. I turned off the web AV and didn't notice much improvement. Is there a way to increase speed?

    I'm not going to change over this, but it's the one thing I don't like about KIS.
     
  2. edd3800

    edd3800 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    I used KIS for a week and had two problems with it. One was the same issue you are having. I tried a lot of different things could not fix it. For me it was a deal breaker and I uninstalled. A few weeks later I did come across a post about using firefox with KIS. That some users were having slow downs because they had tweaked firefox. Which may have been my problem. So if your using firefox you might want to look into that. Sorry can't recall where I saw the post.
     
  3. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Thank you - I'll see if I can find info. on that as I do use Firefox.
     
  4. edd3800

    edd3800 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    Your welcome. If you type about:config into the address bar and hit enter. Anything thats been changed is in darker print.
     
  5. octogen

    octogen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    212
    If I recall correctly, KAV users were reporting slow downs when pipelining was activated while using Firefox. The remedy was to turn pipelining off. Maybe someone who has experienced this can elaborate.
     
  6. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I had that issue, fixed now.. heres how

    can you please double click the kaspersky icon

    choose settings

    choose network

    select

    untick ports 443 and 80


    apply and ok

    And yeah its totally safe to do that. Kaspersky approved. !! ;)
     
  7. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
  8. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec

    Well isnt that nice of Kaspersky UK to tell me to do that. !! I just read the comments on the Kaspersky forum and i am p****d off to say the least with their support.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2008
  9. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I tried the pipelining thing and it didn't work, unfortunately. All of them were already set to false. With AntiVir it's the Web AV, so with that it's an easy solution. Eset Smart Security does not slow things down even with the web AV. Anyway, I think unchecking those ports would help, but I'd feel unprotected.
     
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec

    From Baz at Kaspersky Forum. ;)
     
  11. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    the guys at Kaspersky UK are probably the ones to trust:-most members of the Kaspersky forum don't work for Kaspersky and no matter how good the meanings of the advice given there the guys giving it aren't as clued up on the product as the official uk support bods
     
  12. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Good point steve1955, i should of thought of that but i didnt like the way they replied to oldjims post on there either, implying my words were by a troll. That wasnt very polite at all. :mad: That got my back up.
     
  13. saberfox

    saberfox Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Posts:
    84
    This makes no sense. If you want to disable HTTP scanning across port 80, you might as well turn off HTTP scanning altogether.
     
  14. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hmm, fair point ,but i dont really know what else to do about this problem . I hope that we get some more suggestions to help both mvdu and myself.
    I am using I.E 7 and i get the slowdowns to, also updating KIS 2009 takes a while to even on an 8MB connection. :doubt:
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    lodore once told me to set web scanning at the highest level and it would be faster. Trust me, that still holds true on 2009.
     
  16. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hi trjam.
    Would you be so kind as to tell me how to do that ?
    Do you mean web traffic - set to deep scan ? Thank you. :)
     
  17. yeuxbleus

    yeuxbleus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    What is the average load time of the pages? The reason I ask is to see if I am experiencing the same problem.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I always set everything to its highest settings, rootkit detection and all. Turn off anti-banner, it is stupid anyway.
     
  19. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    The times differ at each site. At Wilders, there's not much difference, but at Democratic Underground, it takes about .6 seconds to leave a page with KIS off and 1 - 1.2 seconds with KIS on.
     
  20. edd3800

    edd3800 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    mvdu I found this at pcmag.com its part of the review on KIS 2009

    The big difference was in the browser test, which took 60% longer after installation of KIS2009. In a way it makes sense, as a number of different security features are at work here. Each page is evaluated by parental control and antiphishing, and the banner ad blocker surely has its own effect.
     
  21. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Thing is, though, not all security suites do this, and with some that do I've found a solution. It's just a noticeable drag that occurs.
     
  22. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    I noticed that most of the KIS slowdowns occur when you go straight from page to page. If you wait, times at electoral-vote.com and google.com were similar.
     
  23. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Hi mvdu.
    Whats your KIS 2009 updating like ?? mines as slow as hell, im on a 8MB connection and the updates trickle in at 13kb a sec. o_O
    all of my other apps update quickly but KIS 2009 nope. It gets quicker as it goes but mannn its slow for a small little update.
     
  24. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Same here with the update. Got a lot faster as time went on, but started out at 7-13 KB/sec and a delay when starting and finishing. :(
     
  25. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Exactly the same for me ! And every time i tell Kaspersky this " no one else has reported" blah blah :D
    apart from that and the slow webpages i like it a lot, and the vulnerabilitys it finds reminds you to update your programs !! cool. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.