KIS 2009 License Question

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by xpsunny, Jan 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Is it okay to use 1 PC licensed KIS 2009, in a multi-OS PC. I mean, if someone uses KIS 2009 in Windows XP SP3, and another copy of KIS 2009 in Microsoft Virtual PC both residing on the SAME PC, any harm?

    What if two parallel definitions updates are carried out at the same time? Will the key be blacklisted?
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's fine as long as it's installed on the same pc...

    By the way, for the KIS product I see they allow to install 1 license on two pc's :blink: link
    In the other hand, apparently Kaspersky's blacklisting works by just submitting to them license keys floating around the web :rolleyes:
     
  3. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    lol the pirates wish.... System is much more complex....including counting the number of computers connecting for updates, number of online activations, keyfile downloads etc.... submitting keyfiles doesn't really need to be done :p
     
  4. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    thanks Baz for clarifying this. Thats why i said apparently, anyway, it's good to know that Kav guys are making things harder for the buccaneers :D
     
  5. xpsunny

    xpsunny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Posts:
    163
    Does that imply that 1 PC license cannot be used in multi-OS PC? Will parallel downloads result blacklisting?
     
  6. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    I can't answer that for you because I'm not the guy with the big red button but obv if 2 pc's are downloading in the same time then that would look a bit sus....
     
  7. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    xpsunny,

    There's one place that question gets definitively answered - via Kaspersky support. Either go through them or run the empirical experiment and deal with the result.

    Blue
     
  8. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    I asked that exact question of UK Support and this was the response
     
  9. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    A 1 user license will work on 2 computers. It has for years. In their pricing structure they offer 1 user, then it jumps to 3 users. The reason there isnt a 2 user is because it can be used with the 1. I know people who have used Kas for years this way and no problems. Why would you buy 2-1 user licences to cover 2 machines. Seems a bit higher then the 3.

    And Baz, for the record, if I made offending remarks earlier I apologize. Been doing that a lot of late. I am not a fool. When it comes to detecting and disinfecting, we all know who is the best.;)
     
  10. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Perhaps it would be due to the fact that you believe that you should adhere to licensing terms that you do accept or move on to another vendor. As explicitly noted in the license:
    A computer is generally understood as a physical device. With this general understanding, you have protection for one physical device with a one user license.

    Blue
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I understand Blue. I didnt intend to mean it is a written rule, but more of one that is allowed.

    Here in the States, a 1-user AV license is $59.95 so for 2 computers it would cost me $119.90.

    For a 3 user license it is $69.95.o_O

    You wouild be a fool to buy 2. So then why is it just not implied, by not only Kaspersky that 1-user license cost $$$ and 2-whatever user license costs $$$$$
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Let me add that I bet if you used a 1-user license on 3 machines, you would get their attention.

    F-Secure and I think Dr.Web, will not even allow you to activate beyond what the license specifies. It will tell you that a previous licensed machine will be deactivated.
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Quote:
    The only time you can install on two seperate machines with a single license is when upgrading from one version of our software on a machine, to a newer version on a second machine. This is not intended to allow you to use two machines on a single license long term - and as such you will need a single license per machine you intend to cover across your license period.
    Quote:



    And this statement doesnt even make sense. So if I have version 6 on a computer and upgrade it free of charge during the licensing period, I can install version 7 on the 2nd computer while the first computer keeps version 6.:doubt: :doubt:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.