KIS 2006 Release Candidate

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DonKid, Mar 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
  2. Stephan123

    Stephan123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    The netherlands
    IS this the new kaspersky 6.0 no beta but a official version like 5.0?
     
  3. wawy

    wawy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Posts:
    23
    it's still a beta
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    It's RELEASE CANDIDATE. It's more like a prerelease version than beta. But NO, it's NOT a final release either. Release Candidate or RC is the last stage of developement. Companies usually decide for 2 or 3 RC builds before going final.
     
  5. Atomas31

    Atomas31 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Posts:
    923
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    The latest release candidate is 16, we are now far from the usually 2 or 3 RC... we must be close to an official release:)

    Atomas31
     
  6. .....

    ..... Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Posts:
    312
    No, its the FIRST "real" release candidate. The others where builds that could become release candidates. (ie RC Candidate 1 through 16).
     
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    All those were pre-RC builds. Final stages are marked as RC1 (or just RC), RC2 and RC3. Haven't seen more than 3 RC stages to date though (for any program)...
     
  8. Kilauea

    Kilauea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    I really would like you to change the topictitle to Kaspersky 6.0.

    2006 is misleading and not correct. People should not get used to it.


    Kilauea
     
  9. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Actually it is not misleading at all. Look at this name for thier FTP site:

    Index of ftp://kav2006@data.kaspersky.ru/

    It names it 2006 and not KAV 6.0.

    dja2k
     
  10. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    The Devs know this, but it will be changed when the app is released. It's better to get used to KAV / KIS 6, because the technology behind this new version could very well be used for the next couple of years :)
     
  11. Kilauea

    Kilauea Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    @ dja2k

    You are wrong.
    We had versions like 4.5 / 5.0 and now 6.0

    The spelling on ftp is also wrong.


    Kilauea
     
  12. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    To all:

    How about we not fixate on the name used given that both sets of terminology have been used by the developers for such an extended period of time with multiple files and activation codes still prominently referring to KAV/KIS 2006 at the vendors site. It is a little disingenuous holding others to detail terminology points not yet adhered to by the vendor or developers. However, it is abundantly clear that it is KAV/KIS 6 moving forward.

    As for the change, I simply assumed that early on in open testing they wished to informally convey the expected release window. Casually looking at the first beta I downloaded, it was in early June 2005. It made sense to articulate that this product was not just around the corner. Well the corner's been turned and it's 6.0

    As for spelling on the ftp, it is fine but is missing the password, here is the proper link with password (it is prominently and publicly displayed at the vendor forum for anyone concerned that I'm leaking priviledged information) for any interested parties: ftp://kav2006:Fynb02dbhec60@data.kaspersky.ru/

    Blue
     
  13. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2006
  14. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I absolutely agree with these points.

    The GUI is very well organized and easy to navigate. To me, one of the nicer features is the very granular custom install option - the specific feature set desired can be installed, with modules not desired not installed (versus the typical simply disabled). This should assist with unique compatibility issues or if a user wishes to use a third party option for specific functionality. Speed has also been improved, I don't seee an impact on surfing although context switching between applications can still exhibit some lags.

    Overall an excellent effort.

    Blue
     
  15. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I cannot agree more .. the only minor point I have with KIS2006 is that it is way too complete. All the other software I purchased the last two years will become useless (unless they come with some extra features) .. everyone is coming up with HIPS modules built in .. so I'll have to choose.

    I really like KIS2006 but because I allready have some of the tools on my setup (appdefend/regdefend/...) I'll probably go with KAV2006/renewal of NOD32. And I truely belief it's a pitty :'(
     
  16. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Yes, they've done a great job with this new version.
    Haven't seen an impact though when switching between applications. :)
    I'm in the same boat since I had to deactivate some features of the pro-active defense.
    Don't want to get too many alerts with apps doing the same thing. :rolleyes: :D
     
  17. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California
    Has anyone else notice a drag on browsing with KAV 6 with HTTP enabled? I can really tell the difference when I disable HTTP. My PC is not the fastest out there, but I don't consider it a slouch either. 1.1 Gig, 512 RAM. I know I can run it with HTTP disabled, but I like having all the functions enabled.
     
  18. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Not really, there used to be some issue's with this in earlier builds, what is the exact version you're using?
     
  19. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California


    KAV 6.0.297g.
     
  20. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Try build 297h
     
  21. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Yes, that's the latest one. :D
     
  22. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    But even with build 297g, there should be no problem concerning the Web AV Scanner.. Are you running with the default settings? Which browser do u use?
     
  23. Shaker

    Shaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Norther California

    Yes I'm running it with the default settings. I'm using IE 6 on XP Home/SP2. I will give 297h a try and see if that makes a difference.
     
  24. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
  25. feverfive

    feverfive Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    121
    Was anyone able to use an activation code OTHER than the one that expires on 4/16/06? That was the only code I could get to work using the latest RC build of KIS... Just curious... I am liking KIS so far; perhaps I'll be going to a suite after all...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.