Kingsoft Office Suite Free 2013 is out + guide how to change dictionaries

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Romagnolo1973, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Kingsoft Office Suite Free 2013 is out
    http://www.ksosoft.com/product/office-free.html

    Adding some new features:
    http://www.ksosoft.com/office-2013-has-been-released.html

    Difference between free and paid version:
    http://www.ksosoft.com/product/compare.html

    As you can see there are 2 new skin available but it still continue been focused on english language, this is a problem for not english user :mad: but ....there is a solution

    If you use different language:
    This is how to change dictionaries with spell check perfectly working :thumb: (is not possible change GUI language but I think everyone knows basic english so this is not a great issue)

    First of all go to Control Pannel - Folder Options - View and set to show hidden files (well to tell the true I don't know if you need this because is my set till the first time I use a os, but if you can't see a folder this is the reason why)

    Download your language dictionary from Apache Open Office Dict. here
    http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/en/dictionaries
    Is an OXT file, so open your zipper (7zip, bandizip or others you use) and drag and drop the oxt in the zipper main window.
    Now you can see all the patterns of that file. Open the language pattern, I'm italian and mine is it_IT, for others could be de_DE or fr_FR or es_ES and so on...
    Extract in your desktop only 2 files, one with extension dic and other with extension aff that you see (in my case it_IT.dic and it_IT.aff)
    Rename these 2 as main (in my case main.dic and main.aff)
    Now you are ready to put this 2 "main" files in these location ( x86 if like me you have a 64bit os)
    Program Files (x86)\Kingsoft\Kingsoft office\office6\data
    Program Files (x86)\Kingsoft\Kingsoft office\office6\dicts
    This will overwrite the main english spell check so is better if you move the originals to other pattern or rename as old, just in case something goes wrong
    Now you can open Kingsoft office writer and you can see that it check your native language and it use your language in spreadsheets and presentation too :D

    For manage dicts is better switch to the classical skin (icon at the top right) and go to: Tools > Options > Spelling > Custom Dictionaries > Add

    In case of future update I think Kingsoft will replace our dictionaries so probably we have to made this trick again.

    Other Tricks : Clean the context "New" menu
    Kingsoft add a lot off useless entries on the NEW context menu, you can delete all this entries leaving only the basic entries (doc, xls, ppt, rtf, txt) simply look at this guide http://www.davescomputertips.com/2013/04/removing-items-from-the-new-right-click-context-menu/ and delete (make a export backup as suggested just in case)"shell new" pattern of this useless file extensions managed by Kingsoft office: .et - .dps - .wps - .pptx - .docx - .xlsm - .xlsx
    Just a clarification: Kingsoft can only read but not write docx, xlsx, ppts, xlsm so have this entries on the context menu is clearly useless; same appens with et, dps and wps that are kingsoft own file extensions and can be used only if some users have Kingsoft Office installed, thats why I prefere remove this entries and leave context menu more clean
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 6, 2013
  2. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Loving the new features, as well as the new modern UI

    Thanks for the info, updated :thumb:
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Oh, I thought they abandon it. Well, thanks for the info. :thumb:
     
  4. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,166
    The spell check does not work. I tried it. I guess I will go back to ashampoo office 2010.
     
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Did you try the in-built support.?
    I find the kingsoft support to be very good.
     
  6. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Grazie per l'informazione Romagnolo! I think it is a great free program really compatible with MS Office, does anyone know the main differences with the paid version?
     
  7. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    Visit this link http://www.ksosoft.com/product/compare.html to find out.
     
  8. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    I have tried the language trick in 3 pcs ai it works 100%, retry step by step, it's simply replace dic e aff file in the 2 patterns with the two new files renamed as main
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 6, 2013
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
  10. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    a little update available, version 9.1.0.4058 is out now.
    I think some stability fixes
     
  11. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Giveaway of the Day - Kingsoft Office Suite Professional 2013
    -http://www.giveawayoftheday.com/kingsoft-office-suite-professional-2013/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2013
  12. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Looks like they abandoned the Standard version, so going to this Professional giveaway.
     
  13. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    I have tried it and the trick works perfectly, now I have Kingsoft Office 2013 with Italian spell check:thumb:
    Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2013
  14. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    855
    What do you mean they've abandoned it?
     
  15. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    how does this compare to let's say Libre Office?

    i know Kingsoft does not require Java, contrary to Libre and Open.
    so not having to install Java is a plus, imo.

    especially if i have to recommend an alternative to noob friends who i don't want to expose to Java vulnerabilities.
     
  16. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Libre doesn't need java for work, it is needed only for some macro and other things but not for basic works
    But IMHO Kingsoft is better than Libre and OO, not only for the GUI but even for Office compatibility (docx and xlsx)
     
  17. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    tnx for the info m8! :)

    i will recommend it then.
     
  18. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
  19. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I just installed the free version, since I read the Professional one on GOTD is only a 1 year license. It feels very responsive and quick. I love the interface. Is it really more compatible with Office formats the LibreOffice/OpenOffice?
     
  20. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Kingsoft is my choice for office software and i find it excellent with a good interface and the kingsoft support by email has always been top-notch.

    I highly recommend this office suite.
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  22. Yakuman

    Yakuman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Even though this is supposed to be free does anyone else see "trial" version in the Help/About?
     
  23. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I've got a little annoyance now. Content with Kingsoft Office, I uninstalled LibreOffice. Now all my DOCX files reverted their icon to the WordPad one with just some gray lines and a DOCX underneath. Even though I have the file type set to always open with Kingsoft Writer, the icons did not change to the Kingsoft icon. Not a huge issue but it is annoying me. I tried changing the default back to Wordpad and then back to Kingsoft, as well as deleting the icon cache and restarting my computer, but nothing worked.

    EDIT: Just noticed a big problem. It can't save in the 2007/10/13 Office formats. Guess I will stick with LibreOffice until this changes.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2013
  24. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I also think Kingsoft Office Suite 2013 is a great free application that is really compatible with MS Office. I only use Writer and Presentation on one computer, and they can be opened without any problems by MS Office 2013 on another computer.
     
  25. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
Loading...