Kingsoft Office 2012 is not Free.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Osaban, Aug 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    Well this morning I received a nice little alert from Kingsoft Office 2012 that if I want to continue using it I'll have to buy a license. I'm happy about the product but I won't buy it as I think they have mislead us in the first place.

    Check the link for a thread dealing with it exactly a year ago, specifically posts #33 and #38
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=306599&page=2&highlight=Kingsoft Office 2012

    Edit: I followed their link Kingsoft Online Store and they offer a Professional, Standard, and Free versions. Probably what I should do is uninstall my expired version and install a fresh one.
    http://www.kingsoftstore.co.uk/kingsoft-office-freeware.html
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 30, 2012
  2. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  3. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    LibreOffice is free:thumb:
     
  4. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    The point is that perhaps for language problems (spelling nummber for number is pretty indicative) Kingsoft haven't clarified what they meant in the first place.
    The free version is disactivated after a year, and one has the choice of buying a license of the Pro, Standard, or re-installing a new version of the free (free for home users).

    I have re-installed the free version and all is well as I prefer this software to Libre Office. One should pay attention during the installation as it will try to include Kingsoft Anti Virus with it, but it can be easily deselected if one doesn't want it.
     
  5. d0t

    d0t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    181
    I can't say much because I've been using it for about 3 months. At least, so far it didn't give me any warning :p
     
  6. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    I tried Kingsoft on a .doc with a lot of numbers and columns (my daughters team's softball game stats) and all it displayed was Chinese symbols. I have 100's of these .docs so Kingsoft is not an option for me.
     
  7. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    That's true, but parts of it require Java for it to work. With latest Java vulnerabilities, people have been advised to disable or uninstall Java. (I understand though that Oracle have since released patches to fix the loophole.) This is probably why some will look for alternatives to LibreOffice, such as Kingsoft Office, that don't require Java.

    Having said that, I believe LibreOffice developers are working to reduce or eliminate the dependency on Java in the future.
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    Kingsoft Office Suite Free 2012

    well my copy just pop up and ask for a key
    guess this is not freeware
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 4, 2012
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Libre office is too big a download.Can anybody reccommend an smaller alternative please.:)
     
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    Yes :cool: ...ca 56 MB to download
    http://freeoffice.com/
     
  11. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Ive decided to go with kingsoft office instead.
    The softmaker open office was blocked by online armor as being a suspicious installation and im not taking any chances with it.
    Kingsoft seems a nice program though and fits my needs.:thumb:
     
  12. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    when i sent them a question from the last time this was brought up i got a response saying it was free and went for a years time. i never heard back after that. so im still not sure if they meant it was like a 1 year trial or like avast free you have to re-register after a years time... not sure. i know i also got this popup a while after using it so its now gone from my systems.
     
  13. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,028
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    Well, I've been using OpenOffice for over four years & I still prefer it to everything else I've tried. including LibreOffice. When surfing with SeaMonkey (or Firefox) I have PrefBar installed & just uncheck Java. It's an old K-Meleon trick.
     
  14. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,322
    Location:
    Philippines
    Yes the are, in most cases you will not need to have Java installed to use LibreOffice.
    Does LibreOffice require Java? » LibreOffice
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.