Kingsoft Antivirus 2012 [Cloud]

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by PaulBB, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Kingsoft Antivirus 2012 Beta Released

    http://www.kingsoftsecurity.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=686
     
  2. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    Assuming this protects at least as well as the cloud scanner in PC Doc, I have high hopes. I plan to install and test it tonight.
     
  3. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    will there be a pro version or will it remain free?
     
  4. Ibrad

    Ibrad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1,949
    I wonder how good it is with other security software (conflict wise).
     
  5. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    I'm trying it, it seems working good, not yet tested with malware
    I post a pic about cpu ram usage, in my case with mine horrible noisy HD there are a lot of I\O read writes

    On GUI there is a Always free so it still remais free, could be in future a $ version wuth more features, but this is free now and forever

    Autoupdate work well and you can even disable it
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  6. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    does the beta auto update from version to version?
     
  7. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559

    I don't track reads/writes, but rather read bytes & write bytes, both which are very low for me. Using about 6.5meg of ram, barely any CPU time, low disk i/o. And peak memory is in the low 50 megs. Extremely light weight for me so far. Will test against malware later tonight.
     
  8. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    518
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    yes, but in my personal case with my noisy HD is number of I\O that make the difference, not the ammount of data.
    is not so bad, realy fast on scan too, but too noisy in my netbook, i like silence :D
    Let us know how it works with malware
     
  9. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,835
    It has behaviour blocker or HIPS? i.e it warns for every process injection & registry modification like HIPS or warns for suspicious ones only like BB?

    It has a firewall?

    The RealTime protection is Cloud only or local too? And if local too, are the local signatures full or only the important/most prevailing & current ones only?
     
  10. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
    It was my mention from old thread about KPCD...maybe can be usefull

    New Kingsoft AV looks fantastic...especially this "sparking line" during installation :) OK...I like features in AV like HIPS/monitor/bloker and we actually have such in this app....I think so - "System Defense" with "Quick Monitor - Basic Protection" oraz "Standard Monitor - Strict Protection" are nice...and probably effective and usefull.
    System usage...KAV is very light during normal job
    View attachment 233315
    during scanning it use more about 60 MB of RAM
    View attachment 233316
     
  11. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Testing the Eicar File it goes undetected with no warning but if I right click scan the eicar download folder its detected.However If I change from quick monitor to standard monitor in the system defense it gets detected.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Cyrano2

    Cyrano2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Spain
    Testing it :D .
     
  13. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Well then thats not very nice :blink:
     
  14. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Can you guys tell me the difference between quick and standard monitoring?
     
  15. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Sure Kelvin see here.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I like that it checks your download before any execution.Example a download to my download folder of CCleaner is checked before it is run or executed.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I through a Zeus trojan at it and Trojan ZeroAccess, may do some more testing latter.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 15, 2012
  18. KingsoftSecurity

    KingsoftSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Posts:
    230
    Quick monitor is process monitor, low system resource usage. Standard monitor is file monitor, high system resource usage.
     
  19. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Good with an anti-executable
    1.Scans download
    2.AE prompts when it wants to run
     
  20. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Thanks :thumb:
     
  21. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    This program is great, especially for how light it is.
     
  22. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,190
    Location:
    USA,IA
    are there plans for a pro version "paid version"?
     
  23. KingsoftSecurity

    KingsoftSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Posts:
    230
    Currently no plans for paid version, but paid feature such as Data Recovery, may be included. We're still looking for other good ways to profit, instead of making paid products.
     
  24. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I have to say its a very nice gui and well thought out.I would have tested some more from MDL but the problem I have is either google blocks many of the domains or norton connectsafe does and when I allow it with norton it times out.O well any ways nice job Kingsoft.:thumb:
     
  25. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Nice combo kelvin.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.