Kingsoft Antivirus 2012 and Roboscan Internet Security

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Kevin523, Mar 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kevin523

    Kevin523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Hello all,

    I am trying to find a free antivirus program to use - where I like the looks of the gui and one that I feel "safe" while it's on my computer - with good results.

    Now I'm not asking for an A vs. B thread.

    I'm just curious about two things:

    1. What antivirus engines are these two products using? From what I have gathered Kingsoft uses it's own engine - while Roboscan uses Bitdefender's engine - can anyone help clear this up?

    2. I've read a lot of posts where users are pairing up antivirus programs, and comodo, etc.
    is there a point to this?
    Can I pair these two together?

    If not - and I use Roboscan or Kingsoft - can anyone recommend free products that work well with them?

    Thanks!
     
  2. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    777
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
  3. Kevin523

    Kevin523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for the fast reply. Can anyone tell me what engine Roboscan is using? Also what might be good paired up with it? I presently use Look 'N' Stop Firewall with Phant0m's ruleset and SuperAntispyware Pro with realtime enabled.
     
  4. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    806
    I believe that Roboscan uses 2 engines - their in house one and Bitdefender's.
     
  5. KelvinW4

    KelvinW4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,199
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    You are right. Elyac+Bitdefender signatures.
    You can pair these together.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Lurker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Roboscan has very weird results for a BitDefender powered solution. It's too crappy compared to other BitDefender products.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,860
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.