Kerio PFW and AOL

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by nogi, Aug 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nogi

nogi Registered Member

o_O

first of all I would like to express my special thanks to CrazyM and BlitzenZeus, who are going to share plenty of their valuable expertice within this forum.
    I'm still a beginner using kerio pfw software, but start using this security tool and learning more and more about it was made pretty convenient to me by lot of information, I could already read from those both guy's.

now I stock on some of my experimets with kerio pfw and would like to ask you for sharing some specific information related to the use of Kerio pfw and AOL, as I'm using AOL as a internet provide most time.

would it be ok just to permit WAOL.EXE to use all ports ( in and out out) on tcp and udp, or is there any information available on which ports nad protokolls are usually used by WAOL.EXE?
    could I also limit the permit for WAOL.EXE to certain ip adresses ( adress ranges)?
    Are there any specific DNS of DHCP settings relevant with regart o to AOL?
    the kerio pfw log did not provide me any usefull information on this.

regards
    nogi

2. DolfTraanberg

DolfTraanberg Registered Member

I nogi,
    I don't think any firewall should be depending on the way you connect to the Internet.
    Dolf

3. BlitzenZeus

BlitzenZeus Security Expert

Sorry, I don't like any AOL products touching my computer, let alone use their proprietary service which is overpriced. The closest I got was when Netscape installed AIM, and the AOD crap on my computer without my permission, I was pissed, it was also the last time I ever used Netscape. My best suggestion is that you find another provider personally.