Kerio Personal Firewall v2.1.5 & v4.2.3 - not working for me

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by JLamy, Dec 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    I have just installed Kerio Personal Firewall v2.1.5 onto laptop with Windows XP Pro that has wireless netowrking. It is now blocking all internet access, problem is that Kerio does not popup with a question asking me if I want to allow a particular program internet access, so my internet connection permanently not working! Any ideas? Is there any service in SERVICES.MSC that Kerio relies on to work properly, apart from it's own kp4* services?
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used kerio 2.1.5 for a long time and it should popup and ask for access permission for your apps. if not it could be a corrupted install. Have you uninstalled and reinstalled??
     
  3. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    Yes, and this is on a clean install of Windows XP as well! I'm thinking that I may have disabled a service that Kerio uses but not obvious which one, so I probably reinstall XP again! I just installed on clean Windows 2000, without any tweaking and Kerio works correctly.
     
  4. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    ***** UPDATE *****

    I have now located the problem causing Kerio problem. After a lot of head scratching and trial and error I place the blame on my Intel PROset wireless utility. I have the Intel PROwireless 2100 chip anad using the 7.1.45 wireless utility with 1.2.4.35 hardware driver. After disabling the util and using the built in Windows XP software to control the wireless card the above problems are gone. Thing is I want to use the Intel utility as it works better than the WinXP one. I have found that with the Intel util my wireless connection connects without fail after booting into Windows, whereas the Win XP util doesn't - I would have to initiate a 'Repair' cycle to get the connection going. I think I may have to make do without a software firewall in this case, seeing as I have a router to protect me from inbound attacks.
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    I take it neither version of Kerio sees your wireless adapter when using the utility? Did you see anything in logs to do with other protocols being blocked? You could try the free version of ZA and see if it works.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  6. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    JLamey: you must have installed wrongly the latest Kerio 4.2.3.

    At the start of the install you have the option to install advanced... if you do that you get pop ups immediately. With the normal install there are no popups at all.
     
  7. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    That's all very well but even if I installed it in the basic mode (no pop ups) then I should have Internet access without being prompted right? Cos at the moment it seems that any network trafic request I make (such as clicking link in web browser) is simply ignored or stuck somewhere - Kerio dont detect it, my network adapter dont detect it.
     
  8. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    I'm not sure how to check if Kerio sees my netowrk adapter or not. I do have my local IP's in the trusted zone, along with the wireless adapter attached to the rule.

    Yes I should try Zone Alarm. I didn't know they still make a free one. IS the current version good? Or should I try to find an older version like v2.x ?
     
  9. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Anything in the Kerio logs that might indicate what the problem is?

    Most comments on the latest version are that it works well.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  10. JLamy

    JLamy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    35
    No - nothing in the logs to tell me anything - no blocked or disabled alerts at all.

    I'm after something that will give me outbound control as I using a router. Something light to work along side the light AV NOD32. Am gonna try that Fileseclab Personal Firewall Professional v3.0 now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.