Kerio and Keyloggers

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by RCGuy, Feb 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    I just installed the Kerio firewall on my computer this morning, and after I rebooted my computer, my AOL Antispyware program pops up and tells me that I have spyware on computer. Before I took any action, I clicked on AOL's AntiSpyare's "View Information" button and it tells me that an ADVANCED Keylogger has been detected on my computer. :eek: Meanwhile, my free McAfee Firewall(which I really don't like), courtesy of AOL, is blocking Kerio's access to the internet, awaiting my selection as to whether or not I want to grant it access. What I'm wondering is: if anyone has ever encountered this problem with the Kerio firewall, especially AOL users. Anyone have any thoughts?
     
  2. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    I'm not an AOL user, but you should remove Mcafee firewall, prior to install Kerio; they can't work together.

    The Keylogger must be a false positive (something like Kerio's HIPS/behaviour blocking).

    Cheers,
    nicM
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Running two firewalls at the same time can even lock up your computer. It is never a good idea to run two together it is even more important than not running two av's together.
     
  4. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
  5. RCGuy

    RCGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Posts:
    541
    Just saw you guys' answers. Well, I wasn't intending on running them at the same time. Once the Kiero was going, I was going to immediately disable the McAfee. Thanks.
     
  6. Cscampxp

    Cscampxp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    i got the same thing when i ran my Pestpatrol yesterday.....it said "Advanced Keylogger" so i was cleaning my PC all day making sure my system is clean...ended up installing a trial version of Nod 32 and even installed Ewido.
    I got paraniod!!! and whats interesting is Ewido found 20+ more spywares i never thought i have...False Positiveo_O

    Whats up with this Advanced Keyloggers lately?
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2006
  7. poirot

    poirot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    299
    Just to comfort RCguy (and myself) i'd like to let him know that today,out of sheer curiosity,i used for the first time an online malware scan, namely
    the PestPatrol one,at www.pestscan.com/ , on a pc of mine where i run Sunbelt Kerio firewall.
    The scan produced the astounding result of detecting an 'Advanced Keylogger',and i immediately suspected a false positive,both because i have strong defenses and because the software was just 'detecting' not 'removing' anything,a feat which would have needed paying for it,of course.
    Moreover, a Symantec and others list of all files displayed by the A.Keylogger in Registry or elsewhere was completely negative, as also was an inspection with Rootkit Hook analyzer,
    (as if BOClean and UnhackMe were not enough).
    Could be some Kerio feature? Or some left over from connecting as client with LogMeIn? What i am sure is these anti-malware online services are probably not as reliable as the antivirus ones.



    edit-i saw Cscampxp post after posting,so i guess what i said about Advanced Keylogger applies to him as well.
     
  8. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Pestpatrol is a program that is a fp detector. After scanning on my pc with NOD32, Antivir, Ewido, A-squared, MSAS, Ad-Aware SE, Spybot S&D, Sentinel, and going through my HijackThis log, it detected 5 spywares:blink: in a friggin 20 second scan. Wow, I told the program to do another scan after taking no action on the results, and it didn't detect anything. So I tried again(it only takes 20 seconds) and it found nothing. After another try, it found the stuff again o_O See ya pestpatrol, good thing I got a free year liscence at their german website. Get rid of the junk.

    Alphalutra1
     
  9. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
    Not even an extra layer as it is a FP program . OUCH
     
  10. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    I think it counts as a negative layer since it can do damage :p

    Alphalutra1
     
  11. hollywoodpc

    hollywoodpc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Posts:
    1,325
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.