Kerio 2.1.5 - Question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by AaLF, Nov 22, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Refresh my memory please u guys;

    Sygate and LnS and most FWs have an Application List showing the status of applications either blocked or allowed net access.
    http://bellsouthpwp.net/i/k/ikpe/ima...plications.png

    Does Kerio have this easy-read list too ( i dont recall)?
     
  2. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    I'm pretty sure it does.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
  4. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for the link Ronjor. The answer is "YES".

    Me thinks, God willing, I'll do a 'retro' tonight & install "ye ol' Kerio" while I still have XP as my OS.
     
  5. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    It sure does and does it well :). Also checks MD5 for changes.
    Example of few application and few system rules (that red cross means blocked, check means rule is active)
    KerioAppRules.png

    and a typical log when Atelier test was being blocked via few other application rules, including IE
    KerioLog.png
     
  6. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi Act8192.

    Any specific settings/tweaks I should invoke straight away or just run bare as installed?
     
  7. ichito

    ichito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,485
    Location:
    Poland - Cracow
  8. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I was primarily thinking about Sygate at the time. But now I've installed Kerio. Its nice to put your feet up and surf the net without some FW hips popping its head up like a hungry baby-chick looking for tucker every too often.

    So far - 3 cheers 4 Kerio 2.1.5 hip, pip, hooray !!!! :thumb:
     
  9. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    But you will need some sort of HIPS or other nagging application, or a very tight setup in the browser, or good AV, since you might stumble on something on an infected site.
    Also Kerio GUI doesn't work well with fast user switching which appeared after Kerio got invented, I think. But I think the driver stays and protects, but I don't remember the details.
    Finally, default rules aren't sufficient. Best is delete them all and build your own set, or at least limit all those window services to the LAN.

    In 2007 there was "Richard's Firewall Rule Set Tutorial for Kerio 2" a very simple way to setup rules
    http://www.urs2.net/rsj/computing/kerio/index.html
    but this link is dead unfortunately. It's a 239K Word file, but can't be attached here.

    CrazyM sticky in this thread has 4 chapters on firewall setup. Scroll down to "Customizing Firewall Rules" section. It's a great link to read.
     
  10. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
  12. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yep, it has! Kerio was a classic, my favorite of them all. I had a lot of fun with the rules in those days, but man, I have forgotten all that now... been a long time. :)
     
  13. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yep, oldies but goodies.... :)
     
  15. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    I hear you. I had a lot of fun with them as well, set them up for all the machines in my house.

    Sadly I am with you Kerodo, I have forgotten all of them too. :oops:
     
  16. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
    You'll all remember them fast when need to setup a hand-me-down PentiumIII box with 320meg memory and Win2K or WinXP :)
     
  17. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yiiiiii. So that was the reason for the BSODs. Both Kerios, 2 and 4 didn't like my XP.

    Thanks guys.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. ttomm1946
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    511
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.