Keeps Coming Back

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Kazz, Dec 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kazz

    Kazz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi all, I keep getting this C:\Users\KARENE~1\AppData\Local\Temp\NdfLC7h187bJ8K7e7.txt coming back each time I reboot. Nod quarrantines it and I delete it but it's back as soon as I reboot, says it's Win32/Sadlamnos.A trojan and has been cleaned by deleting - quarantined.

    Is it a virus or a false positive?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Are you still using V2 of NOD32?

    TH
     
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    As a licensed user of ESET NOD32 Antivirus, you can upgraded to the latest version of ESET NOD32 Antivirus, v4.2.67.10, for free by visiting http://www.eset.com/download and entering your username and password for your legal license.

    Try using that version instead of the older 2.x version and let us know what it reports.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. Kazz

    Kazz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi guys, running v4.2.67.10, I've just done an in depth scan and it comes up with nothing. Rebooted the laptop and it comes up with the message again.
     
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you upload the file to VirusTotal http://www.virustotal.com/ and give us the number of scanners that detect it like 1/43 and nothing more!

    TH
     
  6. Kazz

    Kazz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Not sure how to do that as, when I search for the file it isn't there. :doubt:
     
  7. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Just do a manual scan with other popular tools like Hitman pro , MBAM like that.. While scanning Eset will catch if there is some malware..
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Have you tried scanning your computer from an ESET SysRescue disc? If so, what were the results?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. Kazz

    Kazz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    No I haven't, I haven't actually heard of the ESET Sysrescue disc, is this something I need to d'load from Eset?

    Edit: Just found the download for it so I'll run it when I get home from work.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Here is some info: http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?pag...earch&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=1293571162851 and make sure you have this installed if you have Vista http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...34-D890-4932-81A5-5B50C657DE08&displaylang=en or this one for Win 7 http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=696dd665-9f76-4177-a811-39c26d3b3b34 before you attempt to make a rescue CD! And if you have a 64bit Windows http://kb.eset.com/esetkb/index?page=content&id=SOLN2482 It would be easier if you downloaded Hitman Pro Free for 30 days if it finds something that needs cleaning http://www.surfright.nl/en/hitmanpro/ and Download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Free http://www.malwarebytes.org/ and make sure you update it before you run a scan!

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.