keepass & opera

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Dec 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    Hi
    i installed keepass 1 and 2
    and i imported firefox password

    now is there a way to let keepass work with opera

    a sort of auto type , i mean auto complete (with use and password) when i suft in a forum like wilders

    in firefox i does login automatically

    but i don't know how do it with keepass & opera

    i would like keepass could auto type for all the sites i have password

    thanks
     
  2. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Opera already has the inbuilt Wand feature which does exactly the same thing.Once you save a site login you can just click the tab next to the address bar or Ctrl + Enter.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    yes i know
    but i would like to use keepass to migrate from firefox to opera
     
  4. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    I truly lothe the fact do many useful little apps are limited to FF, which I hate.
    Time to integrate them into Opera has come, don't you think?
     
  5. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Yes sure but it's not a safe solution. Never store your passwords in built-in browsers passwords managers.
     
  6. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    Been playing with keepass today and still haven't figured out how to use it successfully with opera instead of the not-so-trustful wand...
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    i would like to use keepass auto complete form inside opera
     
  8. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    so would I but how to achieve the all-desired functionality?

    been reading keepass FAQ but to no avail...
     
  9. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    It's only unsafe if you have a poor overall security policy,while it may not offer military grade encryption it's perfectly sufficient within a secured environment.

    As for third party password managers,I'd be doubtful that any will be supported in Opera any time soon,given that in general very few addons of any kind are.
     
  10. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I think auto complete works in opera.
     
  11. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    It may have something to do with the fact that KeePass drag 'n drop is non-functional in Opera. I'm guessing Opera considers such actions to be unsafe? The only way I can use KP in Opera is by using the clipboard, which IMO, is not the safest way to use KP.

    And FWIW, I agree that it may not be safe to trust built-in browser password setups. If for no other reason than it's too easy to crack them if you have physical access to a PC.
     
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    did you use it?
    i mean did you try it?
    thanks
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Here is what I do.

    1- Click in user name field in Opera.
    2- Open keypass from tray menu, right click appropriate saved user name and password entery and choose auto-type.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    BTW I am not suing it. Opera,s builtin wand password manager is enough.
     
  15. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    nice
    but it's a way to "auto" auto-type , i mean as son i'm in a site needs a password
    enable the auto "auto-type"


    wich version of keepass do you use?
     
  16. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Sorry i did not understand.

    Not latest i guess. It,s 1.16 Classic one, portable.
     
  18. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    keepass 1.17 classi doesn't import firefox password
    keepass pro 2 (is free too) can do it


    don't know the compare between the v1 and v2 ,about features
     
  19. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
  20. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2009
  21. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    I tried too and failed miserably, too...
     
  22. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    is there a password manager(external program like keepass) that can work with opera?
     
  23. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It will not aut-save like roboform I guess. You need to save enteries manually.
     
  24. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    thanks
    i 'm looking for a password manager that can intercept password (outlook , firefox , opera and so on) and save auto
     
  25. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    what about the one choosen by kaspersky. i forgot its name. it looked good though not sure about the features you asked.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.