KeePass desktop/blackberry

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Fontaine, Aug 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fontaine

Fontaine Registered Member

I've been using eWallet to store passwords for a few years. I used to have a windows mobile OS on my phone and it synced up very well. I switched to a blackberry a few months ago, and cannot wait any longer for the eWallet blackberry software to come out.
    I always knew about KeePass but just found out they have a blackberry plugin to keep the desktop/phone synced up. It's free, so I'll try it, but does anyone have experience with it? Anything to be aware of?

In general, what other password storage software do you all use?
    I've always found it difficult to have totally random passwords such as: kJdiu*4:cool:$kP.
    Even with a password manager, it's a pain to type it in all the time. I guess software such as Roboform auto-populates the browser, but I'm not sure I'd use a feature like that.

edit: for additional question below.
    The KeePass site says:
    # SHA-256 is used as password hash. SHA-256 is a 256-bit cryptographically secure one-way hash function. Your master password is hashed using this algorithm and its output is used as key for the encryption algorithms.
    # In contrast to many other hashing algorithms, no attacks are known yet against SHA-256.
    # Protection against dictionary and guessing attacks: by transforming the final master key very often, dictionary and guessing attacks can be made harder.

Can anyone explain hash to me? I've tried to read about it, but cryptography topics throw me off a bit. And I'm particularly interested in the final comment above regarding the dictionary attacks being almost a non-threat. Any comments about that?
    Thanks!

2. sukarof

sukarof Registered Member