Keep DI-604 or use ATT Uverse Router for Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Chamlin, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Am having AT&T's Uverse installed in the morning and need to decide whether to keep my DLink router in the line with the AT&T modem/router (which they say has a firewall), or just trust the Uverse unit (model unknown).

    Software protection includes: FDISR v3.21.205, Online Armor (paid) and NOD32 2.7.

    Input requested. Thanks!
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    If you use your old DLink...you'll end up double NAT'ing your connection...so you'll get a performance drop...as well as the quirkiness when running some online apps across double NAT.

    Depending on what speed package you have..the DLink may become a bottleneck also...since it's an older and slower model compared to todays generation of broadband routers.

    AT&T uses 2Wire units for their uVerse packages where I live. I've never been fond of the 2Wire products....but with uVerse you're pretty much stuck with having to use it. It is a full router/gateway..running NAT for you with an additional firewall. AFAIK you cannot "bridge mode" these units either.

    If you had a DLink DGL4500 or DIR655 or something higher end...I'd be trying to find a way to use it instead. But the 604....the 2Wire should outperform it several times.
     
  3. Chamlin

    Chamlin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Posts:
    449
    Thanks for that input. Makes my decision clear.
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2008
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Im currently behind a Modem that has a router built in.. then it shoots a wireless signal to my other Router which my other computers are connected to the modem has a Nat.. and the router runs its own nat.. never had any problems at all with any apps online or Online gaming with this setup been using it for 2 years now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.