KBs/MBs??

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Cochise, Nov 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Being a little on the slow side:D......Would it be possible for some very kind 'Whizzer' to explain something to me Please......

    When I had 98se, my Transfer rate for D/Ling was about 6KB/sec.....then I got Broadband at 512 and I D/Ld at around 60KB/sec (10 times faster)..........NOW, my ISP, Tesco.net, has bumped me up to '2.2MB/sec' (for the same Monthly Quidlet amount).......but my Transfer rate is still around 60ish KB/seco_O......so whats the point of 2.2 if any.....or have I missed something here......

    Be gentle with me.....:D


    Cochise,:cool: Pondering in Pasadena...
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Most ISP offer their packages in Kilo or Mega bits not bytes, because then numbers sound larger. For instance 512Kilobits/sec = 512 / 8 Kilobytes/sec = 64 Kilobytes/sec.
    Now, your upgrade should bring you to about 230 KiloBYTES/sec.
    A good site to test your download / upload is bos.speakeasy.net.
    This site gives results in bits not bytes.
    Hope this helps,
    Mrk
     
  3. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Cochise,

    Are you still on 98, can you check your connection with the Tweak test and speed test at http://www.broadbandreports.com/tools and see what they say about your connections.
     
  4. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Thanks for the replies.......I have XP1 by the way.....Here is what I get on your 'Speed Report'.....??........I would have thought my speed should be at least twice that!......

    Cheers, Cochise,:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hi,
    It's time to phone them and be angry!
    Mrk
     
  6. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I have just run the 'Speakeasy' Test and it came up with this??....o_O


    Cochise,:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    What about the upload?
    Wait for the upload, too.
    Or perhaps you haven't posted the other image!??
    I use the speakeasy test because it's far far from home. It's a good indicator about your isp. Most isps give you full broadband in your country but not always outside. In your case, it could be local state isp or something. Is it UK or Pasadena?
    Also, it's possible that there's a lot of users online, servers are loaded etc.
    You should not get less than 90% even at peak times, though.
    Anyhow, its far less than the promised 2.2Mb.
    You need to call and be angry very angry.
    Mrk
     
  8. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Hi Mrk,

    The Upload is a no show...waited 10 minutes??......I'm in the UK and have tested from Mirrors, San Francisco, Dallas, New York and Seattle....!!:D


    Cochise,:cool:
     
  9. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Also just checked it out at Bulldog.....I think you right about a 'Phone call'...:D

    I don't think this speed is quite good enough considering eh?...

    Cheers, Cochise,:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Sorry to have to say this, but ISP's lie.

    I am making an effort to drop the generic "broadband" from my vocabulary. DSL, Cable, ect... all have distincly different characteristics. With dsl, you need to measure the signal to know what speeds are possible. With cable, you need to know how many subscribers are online at a given time to know what the highest transfer rate will be. They're just playing numbers games.

    One thing they can do is to raise your top speed limits. But of course, raising the limit doesn't do much if the capability to reach it is missing. I'd be interested to hear what their loophole is going to be.

    BTW, I have comcast cable and they raised my "speed" to 6 mbps from 3 mbps. I'm sure they upgraded something to support there claim. Of course, they also generated new business by claiming these numbers. Briefly I rose from the 2.low's to the 2.high's. I'd have to check to see what it is now.

    - HandsOff
     
  11. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Well, my very helpful Friends, I have just eMailed Tesco to ask them to clarify the situation.......

    My old Dial up was 6kbs........in their blurb they say "Upto 20 Times Faster"..(See attached)......I await their response...

    It's not that I need that speed (I don't D/L much really) it's just that if they say thats what I should have then thats what I want....they're taking my Money so why not?......

    I will let you all know the outcome just for the sake of arguement..:D :D

    Cheers for now and thank you all for your interest..

    Cochise,:cool: Anticipation in Andover..
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada

    Attached Files:

  13. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England

    Cheers my Mate,.....Ran your suggested Tests.....they are nowhere near what I should be getting from 2.2MBsecs....

    I'll be Back......:D


    Cochise,:cool: Checking up in Checkoslovakia..
     
  14. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Cochise,

    Are you on XP PPPoE or is it a cable modem with router? Looks like they are mis leading their customers, give them a call and tell them to prove their advertised speed.
     
  15. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    FYI - I tried both tests and I felt the second test was inline with my expections.

    It said speed was about 2.3 mbps (not 6 :D ). the first test seems unreliable to me.

    BUT THE GOOD NEWS:

    At no cost to you, I have decided to make my answers 2x as good as they have been up to now! Can you believe it?


    - HandsOff!
     
  16. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Cochise, I'm stunned. 18 quid for that!! Holy crap...
    And that download limit...? Make sure you bust someone's ear with your shouts.
    Of course, I know things are different from country to country, but I pay 10 quid/month for 1.5Mbps dl 128 ul unlimited traffic..
    Go get them tiger. Make them sweat.
    If you play it correctly, you'll get whatever you like with a big discount.
    Make sure you begin your lines like that guy in the Fawlty Tower's with Americans in the hotel (asking for screwdriver):
    I'm not satisfied!
    Cheers,
    Mrk
     
  17. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I received a reply from Tesco Broadband Support to-day......guess what?...as far as they know I'am still on 512 Connection??!!.....

    So I have now sent them the evidence of their Upgrade date 18th November '05 that they sent me and this...(See attachment :D :D)....

    Can't wait to see what happens now......I must admit, it's been fun, I've never run so many speed tests ever...:D.....

    I'll Be Back,

    Best Regards to All, Cochise,:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Here is Tescos latest reply to my questions.......I'm not happy and I've told them so.....something wrong somewhere.....

    Cochise,:cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I would try to look at another ISP because it sounds like they are giving you the run around!!:mad:
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Hey guys


    Something I would try is download a large file from someplace and test the download speed that way. When testing download speed with a beta of KAV2006, I discovered that speakeasy and other sites reported a real slow download(I am on cable). Then I tested with KAV on downloading a 50MB file, and the speed was right what it should be. Tried it with KAV off, and the speakeasy test was better, but still not up to actual download speed.

    Pete
     
  21. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    Mmmmmmm!....It now appears that testing Speeds would be of no consequence.....although my ISP gave me a date for the Upgrade AND although it shows up on my Compy, apparently they haven't got round to giving me the actual Upgrade yet would you believe....:rolleyes: o_O


    Cochise,:cool: Spitting Teeth in Saratoga..
     
  22. HandsOff

    HandsOff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    1,946
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Chochise,

    They sound like a pack of idiots to me. You told them the speed that they said you would get. They acknowledge you are not being provided this speed....then go on to answer questions that you never asked, namely what there different packages are.

    Could be the problem is just this one guy doesn't know what is going on. Or it could be that this whole upgrade thing was just to bait you into buying a faster connection. (i'm pretty sure that you cannot do that...even in England). I'm sure you have your own complaining technique, but my personnal preferrence would be to tell the person that you do not care to waste any more time communicating with him, you want his boss.

    Do you pay by credit card? If so, I would keep documentation of what they promised, and how they are renegging, and refuse to pay, by formally disputing the bill on the grounds that "the service paid for was not provided."

    Most of all - Have fun!



    -HandsOff
     
  23. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    I'm Back.....Tesco finally got their act together after much fire and brimstone from me, stretching over nine emails to and fro....

    I'am now the proud owner of 1 MB upgrade at the same price, (for what it's worth):D

    I'am now lost in the Transfer rate speed testing Jungle that really makes no sense to me....Tesco told me to test my new 1MB at adslguide, which I did...I also tested a few D/Ls from different sites.....(Results below) all different so what is the true story, should I be D/Ling at 120ish KBs or not?..


    Cochise,:cool: Downloading in Denver..
    PS. Thanks to you all for the effort....
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    And this one...
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Cochise

    Cochise A missed friend

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    2,549
    Location:
    North Thoresby Lincs Good Olde England
    And this...
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.