KAV/KIS 2015 Beta started! - Final Has Been Released!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by thanhtai2009, Mar 4, 2014.

  1. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    804
  2. MADx

    MADx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    United States
    Hey SnowFlakes, the Cold War is over. You can relax now. This is my first time trying Kaspersky IS, and I must say Kaspersky is the lightest Internet Security suite I used in a very long time. I bought my copy for $9.95 at NewEgg, very good deal for such a great piece of software.
     
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Just make a raw image of the OS disk before reformatting to provide evidence.
     
  4. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    Kaspersky MR2 Technical Release now available (accepts commercial keys):)
    Links:
    KAV: ftp://ftp2.kasperskyftp.com/consumer-products/Current_Versions/KAV_Win_2015/MR2/
    KIS: ftp://ftp2.kasperskyftp.com/consumer-products/Current_Versions/KIS_Win_2015/MR2/
     
  5. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks! Any changelog?

    Happy New Year everyone!
     
  6. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118

    I've installed KAV MR2 from that link and...

    http://i.snag.gy/DyykL.jpg


    :(
     
  7. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    I was able to activate KIS MR2 with my commercial license. I don't know what is wrong with KAV?:oops:
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  9. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Yeah I already did. It seems that the version from FTP-link was still RC afterall.
     
  10. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
  11. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Yep, you're right.

    It was uploaded last week and guess what, it accepts regular codes ;)
     
  12. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    How does Kaspersky 2015 preform at this moment. Is it light on the systems?
     
  13. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    It is provided you install it, update it, then reboot. Then run a full system scan. Then leave our system idle for 30 minutes so it would perform a Root Scan then it would be light.
     
  14. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'am runnig now Trend Micro 2015 and thinking of running Kaspersky internet security 2015 and not trend 2015
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    They are both great and light IMO but I've stopped using Trend Micro as it was a bit buggy for me where if installed, my Firefox would be super slow and laggy when opening multiple tabs (Chrome and IE not affected). I contacted support and all they could tell me is to reinstall Trend Micro AV which I refused since this was just installed on a freshly formatted system and it was the latest version. That's why I switched to F-Secure Anti-Virus and been running it for a week now and very happy. Although my second choice would be Kaspersky as it has become really light lately. check: AV-TEST
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,759
    Location:
    USA
    Not wanting to get too far off topic but if you disable the Trend password manager add-on in Firefox the problem goes away.
    KIS 2015 was great for us for 6 months with no real issues but then the machines started refusing to boot. Haven't tried MR2 yet.
     
  17. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Well that sounds simple but too bad it's a bit late; also, are you sure it's called Password Manager I only had the AV but anyway neither did the Live Chat Support nor their Technical Support suggest that unfortunately so they issued me a refund. Also, since the issue doesn't happen in Chrome or IE then they must've worked on a fix I'm surprised how not many people complain about this happened to me 3 times on 3 diff. installations :(

    I`ll wait for Trend to polish up their product otherwise it was very decent.

    Back to the topic, yes KAV/KIS are light (or at least lighter than many others that I won't mention) but I don't personally use it because sooner or later you would discover some quirk be it in the system or some app refusing to work properly (Nero Platinum Suite at the time I was using it) so I stay away from it personally but it's not that bad.
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,759
    Location:
    USA
    I just opened Firefox to check. "Trend Micro Password Manager Firefox Extension" is what it is called. Only a Firefox problem, IE and Chrome do not seem to be affected. Disabling it resolved the issue for 10 users, so I'm pretty sure about it.

    KIS would be my favorite product if it weren't for the random issues. But when it is your job to keep the machines running, reliability is more important then protection, and I have to keep the machines running.
     
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    I have recently run both and each was light! KIS is certainly not heavy, but I use Chrome and no bugs.
     
  20. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    True, reliability is more important than lightness and security when it involves setting it up for other users otherwise they would come in your way all the time.
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,759
    Location:
    USA
    They are, and KIS is a great product when it is working correctly. One thing I noticed is that their Outlook plugins do not scale well. If you are a single user with a POP account, it seems fine. When you put it in an office situation with a user that has 10 IMAP accounts, with 4 or 5 digits worth of mail in the inbox, it really seems to choke in that situation.
     
  22. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    ouch, thanks for the feedback, another reason I won't use it on my personal system
     
  23. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Between those two, KAV is way lighter than TMAV on my old laptop. I'm currently running Avira Professional Security on my rig though.
     
  24. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    I don't even install Firefox anymore, and I doubt I ever will. Was this with or without Trend toolbar?s Trend works on the port level for the AV. I'd always recommend disabling the poor quality Trend Toolbars, they are being phased out anyway. It's silly to judge a product based on optional (and useless) toolbars.

    Oh, and Trend 2015 is extremely light. Anyone saying KAV is way lighter is on some serious smoke. But the bugs and quirks in KAV will eventually take you over. I tried KAV2015 again recently, and regretted the decision as it caused some 'strangeness' as time went on. I won't make the mistake again of trying it at least in the near future.
     
  25. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    Didn't say KAV/KIS is lighter bro, Trend Micro is one of the lightest. Mind you, when I disabled the toolbar the problem went away but I didn't like the idea of disabling anything for the product to work properly and Trend's support were clueless about it hence why the offered me a refund immediately as they have no solution. I also wasn't sure if Trend Micro blocks threats with or without the extension installed so I decided to give it a break before I return to it but I did like the product overall.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.