KAV/KIS 2013 Beta - Final

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 3x0gR13N, Mar 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    ME TO!!!!
    I saw 250 mb in 1 moment....The Ram allways move i can't say how much use in stable !!!Between 70 and 140mb
     
  2. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    And people are saying that it's so lighter as compared to its predecessor.
     
  3. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    You can try and you can see.
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Why users keep assessing security software based on RAM usage it's a mistery to me. RAM usage says nothing about lightness of a tool. Actually maximizing use of available RAM can speed up substantially the performance of a software as compared to swapping data to the HD.:thumbd:
     
  5. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  6. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Is that during an on-demand scan? High resource usage is to be expected during a scan.
     
  7. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Yes Full Scan.
    Windows 7\64 bit -Intel i7
    Where is the changes from 2012?
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  8. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
  9. chriswiles

    chriswiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    One thing I do find interesting is that only Kaspersky USA has released this build. Normally Kaspersky UK are the first (2012 was released in June 2011 in the UK and on the Global website, then September 2011 in the States), it's still not listed in the Kaspersky Support website (see http://support.kaspersky.com/desktop) and it's not mentioned on the Global website (http://www.kaspersky.com), which is usually the first to launch the latest release.

    Very odd.
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,983
    Location:
    USA
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Just installed. Running nicely so far on Windows 8.
     
  11. Coccinelle

    Coccinelle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    France
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    I download it from Kaspersky USA.
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,983
    Location:
    USA
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Me too. I am actually quite impressed. It it noticeably more polished than the last beta I tested. And if you are running Windows 8 you can go the the Windows app store and addon Kaspersky Now. I think I will find the news feeds interesting.
     
  13. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,252
    Location:
    North Texas
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Smooth download and running well....:thumb:
     
  14. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Indeed! This has to be one of the better releases from my memory! Finally lower cpu resources, during normal usage! Also safe money modules are highly effective against the latest and greatest banking malware which is what matters most! Good job KL! :thumb:
     
  15. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Reading above comments i am thinking what i have done wrong that the 3370 and 4190 build both feel slow
     
  16. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    If it turns out to be heavy again like its predecessor, then it's a huge flop for me.
     
  17. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Huh! KIS 2013 is running pretty good on my Pentium 4 machine and my i7 rig! I think you may have a confilct on your machine! Maybe you should contact KL directly.
     
  18. ace11

    ace11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    4190 build both feels slow to me
     
  19. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    How? It's running fine for me. Must be a conflict?
     
  20. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Agree, too many people still don't realize this and come to incorrect conclusions.
    How quickly things run and the "feel" of performance is more important than the Task Manager graph and numbers going up and down.
    (Ofcourse we need "feel" and performance without sacrificing security of-course - can always lower security settings to make it feel quicker - which is one of the flaws of antivirus performance/speed tests - default or max settings are not like-for-like across each AV).

    Have you gave it a little time? Initial scanning of files and first runs of applications will be slow (or take up more RAM/CPU) by design.
    Of-course, other running software may also impact this - especially backup, defrag or security software.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    ... and as you would expect RAM usage it's not an indication on how good or bad a software is since you have all sort of positive and negative feedback in here.

    Conclusion: Do not just rely on other users experience, try it yourself; that's the only way not to get fooled (both way). ;)
     
  22. cgeek

    cgeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Posts:
    328
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    +1000
    Indeed! I don't understand this either. Most pc's these days have around 4 GB's of memory stock!
     
  23. silverfox99

    silverfox99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    204
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Downloaded from Kaspersky USA and running fine here on my laptop (which only has 2GB RAM). Just a feeling but initial impression is I think a little quicker and 'smoother' that KIS2012. (I appreciate one man's 'smooth' is another mans bloat hog, but each to their own).
     
  24. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Guest

    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    I have run a full scan and i dont have any other software that might conflict with it
    It just doesnt feel light - it just feels normal
    or maybe after using Kingsoft i feel kis is heavy
     
  25. Amin

    Amin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    UK
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    update files backup capability is removed :thumbd:
    can anyone just tell me why is that ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.