KAV/KIS 2013 Beta - Final

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 3x0gR13N, Mar 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ESQ_ERRANT

    ESQ_ERRANT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    72
    Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 (Final)

    Thanks for the info, berryracer. I've been waiting for the final version of KIS 2013 after reading previous posts pertaining to beta versions of the product.
     
  2. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 (Final)

    Thanks, I'm tempted to try it, however... :D
     
  3. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 (Final)

    my pleasure bro


    Please report back if its browser plugins work with the latest Firefox 15 or not?

    I have PMed you the link to the leaked/official Firefox 15
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,548
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 (Final)

    I can tell you they do.


    - I can also tell you the Outlook plugin works with 64 bit Outlook 2013. I am quite impressed that they are supporting it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    i like the fact that kaspersky has kept the GUI.its very attractive and kaspersky is a great product.
    hope the 2013 release is successful.
     
  6. Sher

    Sher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Posts:
    366
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    The memory usage is pretty high when Chrome is running (with URL advisor just).

    Overall, in terms of system impact, it's a significant improvement over 2012 version.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,548
    Location:
    USA
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    I didn't feel that was true with the betas though they likely had some debug code in them. I find the final to have very minimal performance impact. :thumb:
     
  8. mattfrog

    mattfrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Can anyone tell me if the 2013 version on the USA site will be the same as UK/Europe as the UK site doesn't show 2013 yet, please?

    I've just realised my bank provides a free licence and would like to try it for a week or two :D

    Thanks
     
  9. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Yes it will be the same version. I downloaded from US site and it's working smoothly here. If you're unsure then wait until 28th when it should be released worldwide.

    You bank with Barclays then? ;)
     
  10. mattfrog

    mattfrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    Thanks! :D

    Yep have an account with Barclays, not my main one, but just noticed the link at the bottom of internet banking for Kaspersky. They kept that one quiet! :D :ninja:
     
  11. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    799
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    You can import the cfg but it's better to start clean to avoid any potential problems.
    You can't modify settings above. System Watcher has inherited PDM rulesets that provided majority of malware detection- whether those specific settings were inherited I don't know (keylogging detection is, but it's superseded by Safe money module/secure data input), but they provided an insignificant percentage of malware detection and caused some false positives so it's likely they've been binned.

    P.S can the mods change the title to "Beta/Final"? To avoid confusion.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2012
  12. chriswiles

    chriswiles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Posts:
    209
  13. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    Re: KAV/KIS 2013 Beta

    You are both right and wrong Chris. The OP asked if the version is the same and indeed it is the same version. The GB build, which wasn't available when the OP asked his question, only affects localization. In effect the localization is arguably irrelevant between US and GB version as both countries largely speak English. It doesn't affect functionality and in my tests it doesn't affect performance as I have used both builds. What is different is the in-built list of servers to use for update and KSN. I would not be surprised to learn that the automatic update detects and changes localization.

    When the GB build became available I used the Kaspersky removal tool to remove the US build and then reinstalled the GB build and the whole process took 5 minutes.

    :D
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    4,047
    i installed KIS 2013 yesterday and its running like a charm.beautiful install with no problems what so ever and i dont even know its on my system.
    thank you kaspersky.
     
  15. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I understand this version (KIS) is compatible with Windows 8 so I installed it but it keeps crashing when surfing to certain sites (expressen.se - a daily newspaper in sweden, for example) otherwise it works well. Secure banking works on IE, a really nice feature imo. Sure will try it when that is fixed.
     
  16. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    I just tried browsing to that site and had no problem. I'm using Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit. You mentioned Windows 8 but you seem to be using Windows 7 so was your problem with Windows 7 or Windows 8?
     
  17. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    No, I have just not changed my signature. I am trialing the Windows 8 64bit Enterprise Evaluation :)
     
  18. eplose

    eplose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    seems very heavy. uninstalled here.
     
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,548
    Location:
    USA
    I just tried that site, Windows 8 x64, KIS 2013, Firefox 15. It worked fine here. I have had absolutely no issues with this on Windows 8. As a matter of fact it is the most trouble free first release of any Security Suite I have ever used. The last few years it has taken them a couple of updates to fix things.
     
  20. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    which version you installed on your pc?
    mp1 running fine on xp/vista/7 & win8 x64.
     
  21. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    this is the 1st version I have really liked, I always put it on my wife's machine but this version I may leave on mine...it did seem a little slow at 1st but once it settled in runs great bank mode is nice...
     
  22. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Thanks for the info. That shows how hard it is to do a software that is good on every configuration, it is impossible :) Kaspersky KIS is in beta so it is nothing strange about the fact it didn't work on mine. I tested KIS 2012 on my Windows 7 setup and it worked fine.

    I am testing everything there is out there now (avast at the moment) after been away from windows and testing security suites for a couple of years. Maybe I´ll come back to kaspersky. I have Kaspersky on my Android and very happy with it :)
     
  23. pjb024

    pjb024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    If you are trying different products and having problems with KIS on your setup you may want to try CIS 5.12 which fully supports Windows 8

    h*tp://antivirus.comodo.com/windows-8/
     
  24. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,881
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Thanks, I will try it too. I liked Comodo a couple of years ago, but as I remember it was very "talkative". But then I wanted to know everything that happened "behind my back" so to speak, nowadays I want security software to do its job and just shut up :p I am sure it has evolved since then.
     
  25. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,304
    I decided to give it a try. I downloaded and installed KIS 2013 on my laptop. Installation went without a hitch, including no problem with MBAM. I had thought KIS might uninstall MBAM, but it didn't.
    FF V 15 did not present any problems, and I like the Safe Money.

    Ran a complete scan which took well over an hour, but have checked the "scan only new or changed files" option so future scans will go much faster.
    So far -so good.

    Jerry
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.