KAV 6.0 signature updates

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by crookit, Apr 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crookit

    crookit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    With update feature set on automatic I am getting the message Update: network not available.

    I can only update manually.

    Anybody else have this problem?
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Do you have a dial-up connection? Is it only the first update after starting the pc, in other words, if you update manually, what happens after a while and remember in automode it will look for updates every 2 hours, exept if an update is missed, then it will look every 5 minutes until an update is made. So what i'm asking does it update 2 hours after starting the pc.

    Btw. There is an official forum http://forum.kaspersky.com/
     
  3. crookit

    crookit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Yes I am on a dial-up connection.
    No it's not just on the first update.
    If I update manually, nothing further happens unless I do a further manual update.
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Try to set it to say every 1 hour instead.
     
  5. crookit

    crookit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Will do, in the meantime will post problem on http://forum.kaspersky.com/

    Thanks for your comments.
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I am also on dial-up and have set KAV to auto update.

    Here in KAV 6, it tries to update BEFORE an Internet Connection is made which you can see from the logs. BUT after you are connected it then checks at 1-5 minute intervals for the new signatures. After that it appears to auto-update at 2 hourly intervals.

    IMO, the updater needs fine tuning in KAV 6, particularly if you are on dial-up. MP1 hopefully will improve matters.

    The updater in KAV 5 waited before the connection was made and then it immediately checked for any new signatures.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. crookit

    crookit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Setting update method to 1 hour interval worked.

    Thanks for your help.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.