Katie DriveSentry

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by DriveSentry, May 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,742
    It has an AV component. You can install it alongside another AV product but don't use them both at the same time. Use the other as a backup scanner and you're fine.
     
  2. 2good

    2good Guest

    Thanks alot Guys you've been more than helpfull.
     
  3. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Really like this last version. Much lighter than previous versions, works great with Sandboxie. No need for other Realtime AV. I guess the only thing missing is an explorer shell integration.

    Ice
     
  4. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    the latest version ask me to uninstall my current antivirus which is norton 360...
     
  5. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Its not an AV so no competition there, comparing it with a2 would be more fair minus the fp's ;) and better support :thumb:
     
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    hey eagle you are humble cause you have alot of knowledge;)
     
  7. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    new version is great! using 9mb memory and my system is zippier than its been with most apps. im very pleased with the new update (so far...) much more stable aswell so far (this was my biggest issue with prev. vers.).

    keep up the hard work, and hopefully updates will come out more steadily and ontime from now on, DS is my favorite security app and has been for a while, now that uve fixed bugs, i can use it again :)
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    same here for the first time i can have drivesentry in my pc surviving more than 5 minutes:D
     
  9. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    yep yep, m so happy DS is on my system again, its realy the only prog that actually makes me feel that my system is secure, dunno why but it is.
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i know how you feel and when you combine this with sandboxie or defensewall the feel about security is very intense it is like drinking coffe when you really feel down it lift you up:D
    as we speek i am scaning without the memory leak:)very fast and no more blue screens:)
     
  11. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    ye, sandboxie avira and DS, i feel like superman :argh: :p lol

    and dang is their whitelist a good one, almost havent had a single popup for any of my usual apps. :D
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i feel so happy that some isues with some vendors finally are geting fix:thumb: i feel like a jumping goat:D
     
  13. infinitus

    infinitus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Do you turn off the av part of drivesentry whn u use it with avira?? :)
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    this idea of having a white list is freaking cool;) almost zero pop ups
     
  15. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    yep, i turn of the realtime scanning and use DS occassionaly as a ondemand scanner.
     
  16. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    LMAO, its tru, i thought DS might have been u know (going under) like soo many other companies have been, but they showed me :D
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    i even complaint in their website about the upgrades delates,it was getting so slow even repling posts:D but slow but it will grow up some more,they also mention about getting driver protection is it for this version?and also rootkit protection is it for this version or next realease?
     
  18. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i think this version does have driver protection when i went through the protection settings i saw it there. and the rootkit if probably next release (even though they said it wuld been in januaray :rolleyes: ) we shall wait and see.
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    jan 2008 or 2010:D
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    how did you see the driver protection i am trying to get to know this new oneo_O
     
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    jnaurary like last month.
     
  22. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    click the protection tab, in the folders section by default it protects the drivers folder in windows directory and if u go to the settings button in the protection tab (right under folders and files) i forget which settings drop down its in, but if u read through them, ull see something about protecting drivers from loading.
     
  23. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    cool thanks
     
  24. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    is drivesentry's licence for 1 pc or unlimited like sandboxie is?
     
  25. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    that is my concern. Avast, Avira, (gulp) AVG have been around a long time providing good protection. Will DriveSentry follow the same solid track record? Or will they pull a SafeSpace? The idea behind this app is terrific. Coupled with a DW or SBIE, you have great security! The thing that is really great about this app is the logs. You can see what DS is protecting. Really great stuff.

    Ice
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.