Katie DriveSentry

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by DriveSentry, May 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    There is definitely something going on between SandboxIE and DriveSentry. I gave it one last shot the other night and every time without fail the computer would reboot after closing a sandboxed browser. I made sure nothing else was running, just SBIE and DriveSentry, so that needs to be looked into. I agree that as far as simplicity, it holds promise for a dummy like myself, but obviously something isn't right with it yet.
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    You can stop the scan .
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
    Maybe something isn't quite right with sandboxie?.I guess with any software of this type ,there's going to be conflicts with some type of softwares.It doesn't run with outpost 2009 either,but i would be reluctant to say that its definitely DS that's the problem (rather the reverse from my testing of outpost).It would be nice if either sandboxie or DS support test this compatability issue though and offer a fix.
    ellison
     
  4. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Hi Ellison, unless there is some driver issue I don't know what the problem could be. DS allows sandboxie just fine, driver and all, but like I said, once the browser closes all heck breaks loose. No other software was giving me issues that I could see, and running un-sandboxed caused me no visible issues either.
     
  5. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Would you accomplish the same security as Sandboxie when you remove the browser from the trusted software list? That way you would have more control over what is written to disk by the browser.
     
  6. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Last night I purchased DriveSentry GoAnywhere.
    When I go on my trip to the country of Kees1958, I will plugin my Maxtor OneTouch 4 Mini in several host computers and feel much more safe.
    GoAnywhere works right out of the box and it pops up when you connect the USB. :thumb:
     
  7. DriveSentry

    DriveSentry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Hi Iangh,

    The automated 'tricklefeed' signature update facility is active for the first 30 days of use.

    After this point you will not be able to tick the box in the options screen which enables 'tricklefeed' updates and you will be alerted when a signature update is available. This will happen automatically, there is nothing you need to check to enable the alerts.

    If you wish to see the alert - force your PC clock forward over 30 days. You will see that you cannot update using 'tricklefeed' through the options screen. You then need to wait until an update is available and you will see the update dialog and alert bubble. See helpfile for screen shots.

    Hope this helps...


    regards,

    Kate.:D
     
  8. DriveSentry

    DriveSentry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    198
    Hi Ian,

    Sorry for the late reply on this. I will pass this on to the QA team to investigate. Please could you let me know your OS and any other programs which are running at the same time and i will get back to you ASAP.

    thanks

    Kate.
     
  9. DriveSentry

    DriveSentry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    198

    Hi Nagan,

    1) Maybe your firewall had blocked DriveSentry's access to the Internet. If you allow access through your firewall and then press 'retry' this should allow DriveSentry to connect and the setup should continue as normal? I see the issue here though i will pass it on to QA team.

    2) will pass the irrepressible window issue onto QA.

    3) On first run the CPU will be higher than usual. This has been recognised by our team but this is only on first run during signature updates and setup. The CPU will settle down after to the norm after first run.

    4) There is a 'Stop Scan' button on the drop down beside the 'Pause Scan' button. It gives the option to Pause scan or Stop scan.


    Thanks for your feedback. I hope my comments have helped.

    kind regards,

    Kate.
     
  10. DriveSentry

    DriveSentry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    198

    dw426,

    We will look into this further. What version of SandoxIE are you running please?

    kind regards,

    Kate.
     
  11. DriveSentry

    DriveSentry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    198

    Wilbertnl,

    Thanks for the positive feedback. Glad you like DS GoAnywhere. DriveSentry monitors all reads and writes to and from your USB drive from the word GO.

    enjoy!

    Kate.
     
  12. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Hi Kate, I'm running the latest 3.28 SandboxIE.
     
  13. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    833
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Katie

    PC starts with Avira suite, Copernic desktopsearch, Poppeeper (email checker), Wordweb, Systraymeter and LClock. XP SP3

    The kids don't have Copernic, Poppeeper or LClock.

    It works OK once I have started it from "All Programs". Just intrigued as to why it doesn't start from the install on my PC but does so on the kids'.

    Ian
     
  14. Zamboni

    Zamboni Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA
    Does anyone have DriveSentry 3.1 running in a limited user account on Windows XP SP3? I keep getting a message that it cannot connect to adivsor and to check the firewall and other settings. I have tried all the suggestions on the DriveSentry forum but nothing is working. I am running Avira Premium, Linkscanner Pro and the Windows firewall. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
     
  15. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
  16. nagan

    nagan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    29
    Thanks for your reply.But I do believe the Beta testing has to be thorough and should not falter in the basics.I am sure this program will pick up just by setting these bugs right.
     
  17. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Hello Nagan,

    I would like to respond to your remark.

    It makes sense to think that beta testing is a guaranteed road to quality, I have been actively beta testing a few software products myself.
    With a product like Drive Sentry, there are soooo soooo many factors, for example: I don't use the firewall that you are using, or I run Limited User Accounts, or I have some other software running or other tweaks.

    This is the nature of beta testing: As long as no error occurs, there is no telling that no error exist.

    Also as a regular consumer of commercial software I have reported bugs to the developers, sometimes it takes a lot of time to provide them with enough information in order to reproduce the problem. I have spent months on one disastrous bug of EazFix, you can find my messages about it in this forum.

    What may seem obvious to you, is perhaps your way of using your computer. And it might become very valuable if you contact the support team about your findings.
     
  18. ampo_king

    ampo_king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Drive Sentry

    the GUI to save its Maximized state, as the default GUI size does not even fit on my 'true' 16:9 widescreen laptop.

    also, tray icon and splash screen must be improved.

    _____________

    Moderation note: This post and the next one were copied, word for word, from the Drive Sentry forum where they were originally posted by C.S.J. See this thread:

    http://forum.drivesentry.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=158
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2008
  19. ampo_king

    ampo_king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Drive Sentry

    it has to be more simplified.

    the icon as it stands is too busy, by this... i mean it has 2 items on and both are hard to see and figure out what they are.

    either keep it in a similar style to the black website, with maybe a HD disk sort of image, or another black image of some kind with DS letterd on it in white and red, or use some kind of variation to the no entry symbol.


    i would have it in a rounded-off square setting, black being in the main background colour and would have it at a similar size compared to ie. Perfectdisk's size.

    but hey, just my thoughts. :)
    ----
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2008
  20. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Re: Drive Sentry

    I can think of much worse icons but i care about the program itself and the icon IMO is cute :-* The GUI on the otherhand is dang simple,clear and pretty much needs very lil improving when compared to other softwares.
     
  21. ampo_king

    ampo_king Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Drive Sentry

    DriveSentry has started closing down immediately after downloading the signature updates. It starts as normal (as seen in Task Manager) and closes before it even displays it's window, re-starting DS does exactly the same and it will not continue running. I have uninstalled DS v3.1 and re-installed the older v3.0.1 and this now does exactly the same. I have been using DS in various versions for many months now and I can find no reason for this sudden behaviour.

    This is an extract from the DSerror.log file from my last attempt to start DS for examination:

    9/7/2008 - 19:3:28 - Caught std::exception - Unable to query drive device properties
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:33 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:34 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:39 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:39 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:39 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:40 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:3:40 - Caught std::exception - Unable to open process
    9/7/2008 - 19:4:43 - Caught std::exception - Unable to convert from drive letter to device name
    9/7/2008 - 19:5:39 - Caught std::exception - Unable to convert from drive letter to device name
    9/7/2008 - 19:6:21 - Caught std::exception - Unable to convert from drive letter to device name
    9/7/2008 - 19:6:22 - Caught std::exception - Failed to send request
    9/7/2008 - 19:6:25 - Caught std::exception - Failed to clear cache

    Please can you help?


    _____________

    Moderation note: This post was copied, word for word, from the Drive Sentry forum where it was originally posted by a member called bertieboy. Discussion about the issue is proceeding there. See this thread:

    http://forum.drivesentry.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=179
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 10, 2008
  22. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Re: Drive Sentry

    I wish I had a clue but I can never get the damn program to run on my computer for more than 10 minutes before it causes automatic reboots.
     
  23. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Re: Drive Sentry

    Try DS Live Chat ;)
     
  24. dw426

    dw426 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Posts:
    5,543
    Re: Drive Sentry

    Lol, is it available outside of the actual program? I'm sure not going through reboot hell again just to talk to someone.
     
  25. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    18,252
    Location:
    New England
    From #268 above, these posts were merged in from a new thread started by ampo_king today. Posts that were made specifically to tell the person there was this existing thread, have been removed since they are now not necessary.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.