Kaspersky v.8 (2009) Official Technical Release is out

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Macstorm, Apr 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  2. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Is it ready for an average user, in the slow group like me?
    I suppose I should wait a few weeks and see how it is going.o_O
    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  3. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's up to you Jerry :)

    Please check the link above, as far as i know there's only a few minor GUI bugs yet to be fixed.
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Jerry wait. Not because it is broke but it has drastically changed. They have added a ton of new stuff for the better but it takes a bit of getting use to.
     
  5. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks for the help. I had thought it would be better for me to wait.
    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  6. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    You can download the Technical Release, try it and see if you can manage the new GUI or features. Of course, you need to backup your system first in case you need to restore your system.
     
  7. Xenophobe

    Xenophobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Posts:
    174
    Just tested it in a virtual machine (XP SP3) and it ran well. :thumb:
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Thanks, but I do not know how to back up my system. I know that beta testers do such, but I do not want to go to that much trouble.
    The 7.0.0.125 version is working well.:D
    I appreciate the advice.

    Regards,
    Jerry
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    It has been made easier for most users. But it also still have a lot of settings to play with for the more experienced
     
  10. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Please don't spam.
    I wouldn't trust it if I where you
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    well, he does say the "sipping" is very cheap. :D
     
  12. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Good idea for non-techies to wait for Kaspersky's Handbook (probably over 300pages again!) and Support Articles to be properly uploaded encase you need help.
    ... (There are of course still Help files in Kaspersky!)

    Its definatly not as easy to use as KAV6/7 and other AVs... more new and advanced features (like HIPS), so it'll definatly take a bit of getting used to for non-techies.

    I recommend most people install it in Basic mode, get used to that first and if they're feeling adventurous, after you're acquainted with Basic, run the installer again in Advanced.
    Or if you're really adventurous, go straight into the deep end... Advanced
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    My question, and I tread lightly here so a simple answer will do is, I see iswift and ichecker are both still in it. Wasnt there a issue with one of those and if so what has been done to correct it.
     
  14. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    KIS 2009 won't have problems with chkdsk.It's been fixed since the first alpha version.
     
  15. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    thank you sir.
     
  16. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Is there any screen shots of this.This sounds like quite the suite that they've put together here.:D
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    To me, what they have created is more in line to take on Norton 360, One Care and suites of that type. It has HIPS and it really does all but iron your shirts. It will be different for some, a lot different, some will say to big and confusing and others will love it. How much better it will protect though, well, only time will tell. The GUI is really pretty. Sorry. I dont have it installed for any shots.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    When I tried it for awhile, it looked different, had more, felt same. If that makes sense.
     
  19. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    Perhaps Sjoeii could do this when he gets a spare moment.Trjam it won't iron my shirts!!!:D
     
  20. Nike_P

    Nike_P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    Europe
    I really hope that this new version will be as good as old Kaspersky version's, because i remember before everybody used to love Kaspersky but not the latest , i have not heard so much positive thing's about Kaspersky.
    So i wish them all luck and i wish this new product has a strong detection-rate and a very very light on resources.
    :thumb:
     
  21. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    For me, Kaspersky is becoming bloatware. :eek:

    From a viewpoint of detection it will be top (it always has been)
     
  22. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    I installed KAV 8 (2009) last night, while it did appear to look somewhat bloated, it runs very smooth and light. All the issues I had with MP1 .325 seem to have been fixed, I was still running .125.
    The new gui looks really nice but will take some getting familiar with.
    I have not been installing the web scanner with 7.0, but did install it for the trial and it also was very brisk, whereas before it seemed to slow page loading on some sites. I still will not installed it when the final version is released, as I just don't feel I need it.
     
  23. TJP

    TJP Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    120
    I agree. Loaded the KIS TR release and it is very different to version 7. What I liked were the very fast scan times (for me twice as fast as KIS 7.0.1.325), lower again ram & cpu usage & the ability to scan the PC for vulnerabilities.

    Upon completing the
    vulnerabilities scan, KIS 2009 reported that I was missing two office XP updates, which is nice. The KIS report provides a link to the Viruslist.com site explaining each vunerability.

    Annoyingly, I did have to convert the viruslist.com pages from English to Russian! The English site came up with missing page errors.
    Hopefully KL fixes this oversight.

    I look forward to using the official release in a few months.

    Cheers.
     
  24. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I installed KIS 2009 TR yesterday. I have a license for KIS but had moved on to Avira after the last couple of versions caused major slowdowns on my laptop. KIS 2009 seems to be a completely different animal...scan times are reduced by over 50% and, so far, it runs as smooth and light as Avira. Even the webscanner doesn't seem to cause any slowdown. So far so good. :thumb:
     
  25. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    Curious if anyone that is testing KIS 8 tried it with LOTRO? I have to shut down KIS 7 when I play that game as it can't keep up with the network packet exchange.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.