Kaspersky updates

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by DVD+R, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    You may recall I posted I had Installed Kaspersky IS 2015 to give it a spin, and was unsure about how it was performing these days. Well!.. I kept it on My secondary desktop, and today noticed that 52Mb of updates were installing. that was an hour ago and it's only at 80% WTF! why so slowo_O
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    Their update servers are always slow, but I have noticed that they have been painfully slow the last couple of days.
     
  3. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Also way to many FP's with this damn thing it deletes stuff then attempts to roll it backo_O
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,052
    Location:
    USA
    FP's with Kaspersky? I've had one in the last 10 years. Something else is wrong...
     
  5. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    412
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I also have none FP's with Kaspersky 2015
     
  6. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,526
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Maybe the settings are not default & tweaked too tight.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    No FP's at all.
     
  8. Kobayashi maru

    Kobayashi maru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Drivin' all night my hands wet on the wheel....
    Maybe DVD+R just runs stuff you guys don't, and it gets flagged? That's how it's worked for me with Avast! Nobody else I know has the FP problem.
     
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I'll set you an example of what I mean by this. For Months and Months I've ran uTorrent Plus without any hassle, Then the other day Kaspersky objected to the use of uTorrent and claimed it to be a security risk, and automatically deleted it to quarantine, shutting down uTorrent that was running at the time. Then several attempts to Roll Back the exe were attempted by Kaspersky, again automatically, However I ran a manual scan over it with Kaspersky, and It said it was clean:isay: wtf is going on if it's not an FP o_O
     
  10. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
  11. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    754
    It's a behavioral detection, you'll only get a warning when the program executes, not when performing a static scan. A lot of legitimate programs exhibit malware-like behavior, which is why a whitelist is needed. Posting the detection log here would help, instead of guessing.
     
  12. Bryan J

    Bryan J Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Florida
    I haven't had any FP's with mine either. But the fact DVD+R mentioned Utorrent and KIS concerns me, as I just recently had to reimage my laptop due to all sort's of hanging/not responding app's. Besides KIS 2015, I had MBAM and MBAE, Unchecky, Raptor and the usual assortment of general maint. apps. (eg:Ccleaner, RevoUI, and update app's such as SUmo and Filehippo's File updater)

    After multiple scans with KIS and MBAM, the only threats that were detected were a few PUPS, ie: Open Candy or whatever it's called. So I reinstalled 8.1, restored my security and maint. apps and all's well. I also use VirusTotal before installing anything, and use Backupper. I won't be using Utorrent anytime soon, just to ride as is to see if anything else get's through.

    But I have noticed KIS updating more often than what it was doing with the 1st version. So I've been thinking it's related to the last app update, but obviously I'm not 100% if that's all it is.
     
  13. Kobayashi maru

    Kobayashi maru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    124
    Location:
    Drivin' all night my hands wet on the wheel....
    I agree completely. I get the feeling the AV guys are tightening up on anything that is seen as any kind of risk, or beyond the norm. As you said, it was months of use before you were notified. In my case, It was the Proxomitron. I've been using it for over 10 years. I copy the old folder over the new installation.
    It's nothing less than over-zealous detection. It gets moved moved to the quarantine. Then they want all the program credentials, the developer etc, to mark as a FP, which you send and nothing happens?

    All that happened was more erroneous detection of innocent programs. Like the boy who cried wolf...... AV is played out. Jack of all trades and nothing particularly good.
     
Loading...