Kaspersky slow auto-updates.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Mayahana, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Anyone notice Kaspersky sometimes doesn't auto-update for days?

    I'm testing it here since purchasing a 10 Device License for $39 over Black Friday.

    What I noticed is sometimes Kaspersky will show an alert for old updates on some machines, and I will find out it hasn't updated in 1, 2 sometimes 3 days. All of the update settings were left alone - automatic. Any clue what is causing this?
     
  2. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    It did an auto update in my machine today, but I noticed this situation some days ago.


    Last auto update (8 hours ago):

    http://i.imgur.com/N4TNUch.jpg
     
  3. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,915
    I have KIS for a week. It is always up-to-date on my PC.
     
  4. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    205
    Location:
    Vietnam
    The automatic update function sometimes doesn't work as expected, you can try scheduled update mode instead of auto.
     
  5. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,955
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Official standard advice is:

    "Reboot, then

    1. Check computer date and time. Correct if necessary.

    2. Settings > Additional > Appearance > Enable Icon Animation

    3. Settings > Additional > Network > Proxy Server Settings > Do Not Use Proxy Server.

    4. Scheduled scans and updates while on battery power use considerable resources. If using a laptop check Settings > Performance > Battery Saving

    5. If your license is a managed subscription, please click Manage Subscription, located at lower right of the main Kaspersky window,then click the "Update subscription status" button. Then start an Update."
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2014
  7. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    192
    The number one cause is incorrect system date which can be caused by the bios battery because each time the system is restarted the date is reset.

    I had the same update issue just only on one machine, and that happened to be my personal rig. All the others updated just fine except mine. My bios battery was just fine, and I did everything that @hawki posted. Still no love. I uninstalled and re-installed and still did not work right. I ran PowerTools Lite 2013 free registry cleaner, and after that did a fresh install of Kaspersky, manually updated, rebooted, and then manually updated again, and now Kaspersky was updating just fine.

    Still annoys me that Kaspersky does not use local time for updates.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  8. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    This is happening on 4 out of 10 machines, and 2 of them are brand new. The times are correct, and there aren't any bios time issues. This is a pretty annoying bug to have to go around to 10 different machines and babysit Kaspersky.
     
  9. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I also have this problem in KIS2015, unfortunately they have been removed Hourly Scheduled updates and only have daily and weekly updates.
     
  10. PatsSoxBruins

    PatsSoxBruins Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    It's clearly not your pc or a bios issue. That is absurd for someone to say that. I have used everything out there. KIS seems to autoupdate only when it wants to. Most autoupdate upon start up. Such as Eset. 15 min later after boot up my KIS still hasn't auto updated at times. I am always checking it (baby sitting). FYI..............settings are bone stock.
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    I had this problem on a brand new laptop, tried everything... had to give up on using KIS on that specific machine.
     
  12. PatsSoxBruins

    PatsSoxBruins Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    Lol..............No reason to give up and uninstall it. I am sure it was autoupdating. Mine does autoupdate but not when I feel as though it should be.
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    well... it was not updating for days unless I was manually updating. Not feeling very secure :)
     
  14. PatsSoxBruins

    PatsSoxBruins Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    Do you often turn your pc on then turn it off an hour later? Are you on battery power a lot?
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    I was mostly working on batter power but turned off the option of not updating on battery... never had problems with KIS before in any laptop, but on that one (a MS surface pro 2) there was no way ...
     
  16. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    So true :argh:
     
  17. PatsSoxBruins

    PatsSoxBruins Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Posts:
    25
    My laptop has been on all day. Updates working as designed.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. snippits

    snippits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Posts:
    192
  19. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    This is not related to Battery, Mine is desktop and I never shutdown or log off
    (running 24/7) but I have this problem at least every other day.
     
  20. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    After this thread my copy of Kaspersky is updating just fine :argh:
     
  21. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Same.. Coincidence?

    We will see how it goes over the next few days, but I am not interested in babysitting an AV.. At this rate, I am ready to go back to Norton 2015, and tolerate the toolbar nag, and unencrypted updates..
     
  22. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    74
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    I had a similar problem with KIS 2015, but in my case I had an update stuck at 98% for 3 days. I would turn on my notebook and Kaspersky would immediately show it was updating and 98% done. I couldn't even cancel this update. After three days it finally allowed me to perform a manual update and has been working correctly since then.
     
  23. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    28130602673468032220.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2014
  24. donaddams

    donaddams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Posts:
    80
    Location:
    mojave Desert
    I have KIS 2015 and have not experienced any problems with updating.
     
  25. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Every single time I attempt to move to Kaspersky, software bugs, and problems drive me away. Worse, since moving to KSAV we've had 2 machines in the home get hit with PUA's. Under Norton, we had no issue for 2 months - not a single PUA made it past the Insight/Fingerprint/Reputation system.

    Getting super frustrated with Kaspersky, and missing Norton.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2014
Loading...