Kaspersky Security Cloud Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Romagnolo1973, Oct 13, 2019.

  1. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,318
    Location:
    .
    Ya thinking Kasper alone or u'r not interested in K anymore?
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2019
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,190
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    If the Russian can't play nicely on my machine then it doesn't get to play at all.

    Your mileage my differ though.
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,318
    Location:
    .
    Didn't Kasper move to Switzerland? :isay:
     
  4. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I can only speak for myself but running Kaspersky Free and Comodo Firewall is perfectly fine at least on my PC (with 8.1 x64) despite the fact the installer wanted to uninstall Comodo. It was a bit tricky to make the programs "compatible" each other but I am entirely satisfied with the result for the time being (for over a year now).
     
  5. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2019
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    I'm still on D. Apparently running updates only does the database? I have to wait for E to come on it's own?
     
  7. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,205
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Does this version allow you to still tinker with the settings?
     
  8. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,149
    The patch is released gradually, maybe you just need to reboot to apply it.
     
  9. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,149
    Yes, it does, you can fully tweak the settings for your needs.
     
  10. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    To force the update you can disable the Self-Defense and change the UpdateTarget registry value to 200

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\KasperskyLab\AVP20.0.0\environment\

    Use it at your own risk:

    https://community.kaspersky.com/kaspersky-internet-security-13/patch-e-for-kaspersky-internet-security-version-20-0-14-1085-5182#post23846

    Edit: The method worked for me a week ago for KFA.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2019
  11. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    Thanks. I'll give it a couple days and see if it comes though.
     
  12. rainbow1112

    rainbow1112 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    latest kaspersky have compatibility issue with malwarebytes. Chrome/Thunderbird Spotify will hang when malwarebytes ransonware module is enable.
     
  13. Romagnolo1973

    Romagnolo1973 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Italy - Ravenna
    somethig strange today, Kaspersky Cloud ask me license so probably I download trial versin of Cloud and after 30 days it expired. I try now and the free page dowload a trail setup, it is a bit confusing. Now I found a probably free download in another site (not Kaspersky official) and this is a free version for sure in the main windows it said "you are using a free package". But the free Cloud is only english, franch, spanish and russian, there is not an Italian, potugues, germa version right? the installer too said to me is not intended for europe (probably a privacy law that made 2 different package, for global and EU) but it is working perfectly thanks god
     
  14. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    I noticed mine says it expires in a year. Do they auto-renew it then?
     
  15. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    I finally rebooted my PC, and then ver E came though.
     
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    12,173
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes good point, I just saw that the free version does miss a couple of things like Safe Money. But depends on what you need.

    https://www.kaspersky.com/free-cloud-antivirus
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,311
    Location:
    USA
    They should. I have a PC that has been running Kaspersky Free for about 3 years and it always has.
     
  18. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,190
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    FYI for those interested, as posted in the Malwarebytes Forums (and above), disabling Ransomware Protection in MB is sufficient to allow both KSCF (patch 'e') and MB to play nicely on my machine... at least for the time being.
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    I have idle time scans disabled, but it still seems to run a rootkit scan at least once per day. Anyway to disable?
     
  20. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Check Performance settings, there is also a setting to disable that rookits scan...
     
  21. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,744
    I think that is just for removal drives that get connected though.
     
  22. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Actually Not: https://help.kaspersky.com/KIS/2020/en-US/68153.htm
    It is not related with external/removable drives...
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,865
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  24. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,190
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I had a Window on screen yesterday advising me an upgrade was available. Thinking there may have been a newer version of KSCF I clicked to upgrade, only to see a comparison chart suggesting to purchase a pro license.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.