Kaspersky Personal/Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Sputnik, Sep 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I was browsing around on Kaspersky's website and I saw the huge price difference between the normal Personal and the Personal Pro.

    Personal: $41.50
    Personal Pro: $66.50

    Now what is exactly the main difference between them. I know the Pro has more configuration options, but to pay $25 extra for some configuration switches is kinda crazy. Also the Pro seems to use more RAM? Close this topic when you find it useless, but I just was interested.
     
  2. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    If you have a Pro license, you get a free upgrade to KAV 2006 is what I have heard is one of the differences. Plus there is Office protection on Pro. There are more but that is what sold me on it.
     
  3. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    I think if you buy Pro you can upgrade to KIS 2006 and if you buy Personal you can upgrade to KAV 2006?
     
  4. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Probably right. I should have said I bought it just for the Office protection. I don't want KIS, but rather KAV, lol. :D
     
  5. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    He is right, when you install KIS 2006 you can just decide which module's you want to install, so if you don't like Antihacker, you don't install it, but you may want Antispam, Antispy and Officeguard (not in KAV 2006), but if you want to, you can probably use the Pro-key for KAV 2006 just like you can use it for Personal now.
     
  6. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Thanks Don.
     
  7. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    I love this approach. This is somethig I disliked with other "Suites" in that you couldn't just install certain pieces of it. It was all or nothing(even though you could turn features off in other suites, they would still be installed and hooked into the OS).

    As for Pro vs Personal, try each one and see which you like better. I started with the Personal version but after a bit, I decided to upgrade to the Pro version for more flexibility in controlling what KAV does and when.
     
  8. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    umm...I thought Kaspersky pro was not available anymore. I cannot find it anywhere on eithar www.kaspersky.com or www.kaspersky.co.uk. I swear I read somewhere that they split the product line into personal and KIS.

    anyone?

    S.
     
  9. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Simon, i don't i can see/buy Pro at both sites you linked to, but you can always buy through the swiss reseller Metro they have 1 + 2 year deals which are for two desktops. Or if you're in the US, the US-distributer http://store.ice-kav.com/, in fact i can buy through all of these so i don't know whats the problem.

    There will no Personal/Pro version in the 2006 lineup, there will from the start be Kav 2006 & KIS 2006. :)
     
  10. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    just to clarify Don Pelotas, can you see pro in the sites I mentioned?
     
  11. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Yes, in both and buy as well if i needed to. :)
     
  12. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    just found it also, its weird though, inder downloads, it isnt listed, oh well!

    thanks for that,

    S.
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    What if you use this link:http://www.kaspersky.com/productupdates?
     
  14. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    its not there...
     
  15. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
  16. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    I had this problem initially, when I bought the Personal version. I didn't know the Pro version was still available because it didn't show up for me on their website(their website is a bit screwy if you ask me). When I found out it was available, I talked to their(Kaspersky) sales department and they allowed me to buy the Pro version and refunded my Personal version cost.

    This is the Product Page for Pro: http://www.kaspersky.com/personalpro

    However, when I click on the buy link, Digital River gives me an error.

    I used this link to buy the Pro version: http://esd.element5.com/product.html?productid=507003&languageid=1&cart=1

    It still works fine, if you want to buy it.
     
  17. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    ok, thanks for that. I thought I was going crazy for a minute! I think ill stick it out with personal as pro is really expensive! Spending that much on an AV just seems like madness.

    thanks again for providing me with some clarity!

    S.
     
  18. Chuck_IV

    Chuck_IV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Posts:
    133
    That all depends on what you are looking for in an AV(I also got lucky in that respect as my Pro purchase was discounted).
     
  19. SimonCC

    SimonCC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    72
    Location:
    London
    I currently have ewido security suite, PG, spyware guard, as well as KAV protecting my system. So far now, all is well! :D
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.