Kaspersky link

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Meriadoc, Mar 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi,
    I've just installed Kaspersky AV to give it a go on a heavily infected Virtual Machine and it is flagging VMWare Tools, strange that it is suddenly detecting, all the scripts look ok.
    I was wondering if anyone has a link for that or should I go through support - as I am not a member of Kaspersky forum.

    Cheers.
     
  2. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    hello
    flagging as what? (deection name).
    iif you have false positive issues send those files to newvirus@kapsersky.com with the email title "false positive"
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, yes fps thanks for the link. I'm still trying to get up to speed with the av - vmware tools was not a wrong detection just a setting:). Thanks.
     
  4. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    The VMware tools detections are not FPs if they are named riskware:...
    Can you post a screenshot of the message? it may be a popup from Kaspersky's ProactiveDefenseModule
     
  5. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    yes, i think vmware tools give you invader detections.
     
  6. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yes, thanks guys, you are correct.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.