Kaspersky link

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Meriadoc, Mar 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi,
    I've just installed Kaspersky AV to give it a go on a heavily infected Virtual Machine and it is flagging VMWare Tools, strange that it is suddenly detecting, all the scripts look ok.
    I was wondering if anyone has a link for that or should I go through support - as I am not a member of Kaspersky forum.

    Cheers.
     
  2. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    hello
    flagging as what? (deection name).
    iif you have false positive issues send those files to newvirus@kapsersky.com with the email title "false positive"
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi, yes fps thanks for the link. I'm still trying to get up to speed with the av - vmware tools was not a wrong detection just a setting:). Thanks.
     
  4. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    818
    The VMware tools detections are not FPs if they are named riskware:...
    Can you post a screenshot of the message? it may be a popup from Kaspersky's ProactiveDefenseModule
     
  5. plantextract

    plantextract Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Posts:
    392
    yes, i think vmware tools give you invader detections.
     
  6. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yes, thanks guys, you are correct.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.