Kaspersky KAV/KIS/KTS/KS 2018

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 3x0gR13N, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,574
    Location:
    USA
    Probably not anytime soon. I would just upgrade it manually if you want it soon.

    Also, I got patch 'b' for my other PC last night, so if you're in a region where they are rolling it out, it shouldn't take too long.
     
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think I will wait for automatic update. I want a version that is as stable as possible. :) Also, the features of 2018 compared to 2017 are no big news.
     
  3. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    I find that TAM works much smoother in 2018 version.
    Also, 2018 has "prevent infection during operating system restart". Isn't this a new feature?
    "If the check box is selected, whenever the operating system is shut down, Kaspersky Internet Security operates with a focus on scanning files that appear on the drive while the operating system is being restarted. If any of these files are malicious, the application neutralizes them after the operating system is restarted."

    I got patch B.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,574
    Location:
    USA
    I find 2018 to be more stable than 2017 and agree with what shmu26 said above.
     
  5. AMD

    AMD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    UK
    With the update patch B, are we supposed to be on the public or beta server for future updates ??
     
  6. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Will you share what patch B does that is significant?
     
  7. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    Testable fixes and features:
    ∙ Requirement 2161864:[BRQ][VPN][SDE Win][M] Improving UX п.4 - открывать окно продукта в случае standalone установки
    ∙ Bug 2158056:[KSDE][GUI] Balloon about IP hiding shows several times
    ∙ Bug 2190715:[New home device protection] Duplicate current device in devices window
    ∙ Bug 2190721:[New home device protection] Incorrect helpid in link to help
    ∙ Bug 2190723:[New home device protection] No device name in an alert.

    Compatibility fixes:
    ∙ Requirement 2028282:[BRQ][SM] Notify MS Edge user about possible fallback to another browser while using Safe Money
    ∙ Bug 2150848:[SUPPORT] Mark as Spam/not Spam buttons are absent in Outlook
    ∙ Bug 2167191: DUMP: clr!DllRegisterServerInternal_024DA519
    ∙ Bug 2172881 DUMP: System.Windows.Input.StylusWisp.WispLogic!RegisterStylusDeviceCore_D2F53620
    ∙ Bug 2181552: DUMP: DomainBoundILStubClass!IL_STUB_CLRtoCOM_35C0052A
    ∙ Bug 2183055: DUMP: DomainNeutralILStubClass!IL_STUB_PInvoke_BBF3E392

    Special bugs and features (where special environment or infrastructure is needed):
    ∙ Requirement 1981795:[BRQ][VPN][SDE Win][2018 Patch B][M] Different VPN traffic limit for KPC-connected devices
    ∙ Requirement 1813949:[BRQ][VPN][SDE Win] Migration from oVPN to AF Hydra SDK
    ∙ Requirement 1988710:[BRQ][VPN][SDE Win][M] Timely VPN session termination when hitting traffic limit
    ∙ Requirement 2179144:[BRQ][SaaS]SaaS trial and no region on MyK portal
    ∙ Bug 2153954:[OAS] FalseAlarms on KSN Trusted files (OnExecute event) for riskware samples (special detect)
    ∙ Bug 2158238:[SaaS Program][Secure news] Product do not show balloon about new secure news
    ∙ Bug 2173632:[Security news] KS could does not displayed balloon for security news on Windows XP
    ∙ Bug 2175531:[GUI] Empty window displayed for a long time
    ∙ Bug 2182429:[SUPPORT] Certificate verification problem detected: 0x000000ff Safe Money error
     
  8. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks - haven't received update yet - appreciate the info.
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,574
    Location:
    USA
    Don't forget that once you have received it you will have to reboot to apply it. You can check the update logs for it and reboot if you see it.
     
  10. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Even with that new feature, there are still malwares (Low Restricted) that auto set in Windows Task Scheduler or even directly in AuroRuns sections and bypass the protection in K2018 if You are in "Default Settings"... I know because I've tested some :) I recorded a video showing the attack, collected full traces and sent them all to KL, but don't know whether They will take care of it or not...
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  11. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    And which tweaks will defeat those early-starting malwares?
    TAM is the answer?
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2017
  12. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Well, probably Unknown Apps to High Restricted, and/or also to be in Defaults Settings but in Interactive Mode. If We check the K. Application Control settings for that key (TaskScheduler), to make some changes there in Low Restricted will prompt (but only in Interactive), all prompts in general in Auto Mode (Default Settings) are allowed. In High restricted directly changes there are blocked:

    TS.png
     
  13. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Thanks for this info. Mine is now updated to "b"
     
  14. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,482
    If you go into Interactive mode, you get the opportunity to block things that would automatically be allowed. That much I understand.
    But does it work also the other way around? Are you given the choice to allow things that by default would have been blocked?
     
  15. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,574
    Location:
    USA
    I would say in general the answer is no. Interactive mode is still pretty quiet. If something is on the Kaspersky white list it will not ask. The only time you will really hear from it is when it is blocking something. Even that is pretty rare and when it does happen that something is blocked without you being prompted it probably should be.
     
  16. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    815
    Location:
    A Non-Sh*thole State
    A quick question. Does anyone know a download link for the 2018 full offline installer(s) of KIS and/or KTS 2018 with Patch B already applied?
     
  17. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Official offline installers are not ready yet, but these ones are TR which work with commercial keys:

    ftp://ftp2.kasperskyftp.com/consumer-products/Current_Versions/2018/

    You will get Patches A & B via standard updates once installed after updating signatures and then restarting the system...
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Patch b running smooth over here. :)
     
  19. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    I love Emsisoft. Decided to remove it and try the new KIS 2018. Always been a fan of Kaspersky. When trying to install it shows Emsisoft and 360 total security needing to be removed. I allowed KIS to do this but, it would not install. Kept showing 360 Total Security needed to be removed. I used Revo Pro and uninstalled in safe mode. Still, KIS would not install. Kept saying error. Could not install. Anyone have any ideas here ?
    Thanks
     
  20. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
    Try downloading and run Kaspersky's removal tool.

    https://support.kaspersky.com/common/service.aspx?el=1464
     
  21. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks
     
  22. Lucius

    Lucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    77
    First of all I would not uninstall antivirus softwares with 3rd party uninstallers 'cause it could screw your system.

    You may want to download emsisoft uninstall tool named emsiclean https://helpdesk.emsisoft.com/Knowl...an-i-completely-uninstall-an-emsisoft-product, run it and after rebooting system try install kaspersky again..
     
  23. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Lucius. Tried that first. Did not help. Thanks though.
    Shadek....no option for 2018 version but, trying it anyway for 2017. But, if it never installed, why would I need to use the remover ?
     
  24. Disney

    Disney Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    USA
    Tried everything I could think of. Emsisoft gone. I see no evidence of 360 nor did KIS. Still shows error. Failed to install. Was looking forward to trying it out. Back to Emsisoft for me. Thank you guys !!
     
  25. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,538
    Location:
    Sweden
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.