Kaspersky KAV/KIS/KTS/KS 2018

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by 3x0gR13N, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Glad this is finally out. Are you guys running default settings or do you have any recommended tweaks?
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    I was starting to wonder if they were ever going to release it. I had good luck with it in beta testing, and so far it runs quite a bit better for me than the 2017 version did.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    So far the only change I have made is go to "Settings\Additional\Threats and Exclusions" and checked the box for "Detect other software that can be used by criminals to damage your computer or personal data"
     
  4. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    I have just done the same. Thanks!
     
  5. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,304
    If you use just the antivirus version I dont think that you need anymore tweaks, but in KIS I like to activate these settings below:

    http://image.prntscr.com/image/fd1f26de66fc44e982bcb7def9eed9dd.png
    http://image.prntscr.com/image/37838f5567504698b65f7377cfcce0d5.png

    I disable the rootkit scan in performance settings and sometimes I like to play with "Application Control", so unknown apps are moved to "High Restricted" group.

    IMO default settings are fine, but if you really want to try something different with KIS, try "Trusted Applications mode", it will lockdown your system to maximum security.
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    I forgot to mention I also disable the rootkit scan. It might not hurt to run it manually if you are worried about it but it takes too long to let it run every day.

    I like the Trusted Applications Mode but it is not for slow machines as it will slow things down. I have yet to try and see if it is faster on the 2018 version. I probably will, but I will likely disable it later like I usually do.
     
  7. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Thanks for the tip guys. So I assume that you both leave idle scans enabled and that is why you are disabling the rootkit scans?

    Will maybe check out Trusted Applications Mode as well.

    Cheers!
     
  8. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    I'm giving the Trusted Applications Mode a spin. A tiny bit of slowdown but not much. I'm going to keep it for a while and see if I encounter any issues. I'd much prefer to be able to keep it on.
     
  9. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Hey guys. Any idea on how to install the Chrome browser extension if you did not allow/install it from the installation of KIS 2018?
     
  10. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
  12. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Yes, the same in my KTS2018TRa...
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,846
    Thanks very much.
     
  14. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What about the HIPS, is it more of a behavior blocker, or does it still let the user make decisions? And which behaviors are being monitored?
     
  15. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    804
    If you turn off Automatic mode it's a chatty HIPS program that you can configure.
     
  16. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    System Watcher is the behavior blocker of Kaspersky. But, well, if you want, you may call its HIPS a behavior blocker, too. :)
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, and what behaviors are monitored, perhaps you can post a screenshot? I remember that Kaspersky was the first AV that added HIPS back in 2006, but it was totally user controlled, so it couldn't make decisions on its own.
     
  18. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    This also has screenshots: http://support.kaspersky.com/12676?...ptor&utm_medium=product&utm_campaign=KIS_18.0

    https://usblog.kaspersky.com/system-watcher-patent/7665/

    This is for the details of what it does: http://support.kaspersky.com/6270



    Also, its detections not directly related to exploits have detection names that start with "PDM".
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks, I believe the HIPS is called "Application Activity Control", would be nice if someone could post a screenshot of that.
     
  20. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    804
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,557
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  22. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    You already saw Access to Other Processes. These are below it. :)

    1st part.png 2nd part1.png
     
  23. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Link does not seem to work for me - brings me back to this thread?
     
  24. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,554
    Location:
    USA
    Works for me. Browser issue? Maybe try a different one?
     
  25. JohnBurns

    JohnBurns Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    775
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Got it - just took a 2nd try. Thanks for making me try again.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.