Kaspersky is excellent.

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Osaban, Jan 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    Irony overwhelming.
     
  2. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    ROFL. Beat me to it. I have not tried KIS since 2014 patch a, and it was buggy and slow. I have a paid license, so I fired it up yesterday. Boots fast, everything snappy, web browsing not slowed down, everything seems as fast as before. File copying is even fast. Only 7MB of ram used and zero % CPU used, even when opening and closing files and programs and copying files or extracting.

    I'll be using it full time now, as I really like it.
     
  3. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    How exactly did you check that? Which process, avp.exe or avpui.exe? That number seems way too low for me.
     
  4. nsm0220

    nsm0220 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    im with you on that i know that kis is not light on ram
     
  5. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I've made no comment regarding whether KIS's RAM usage is appropriate or not. I merely suspect Austerity might have made a mistake in his observation, which is why I would like to inquire how exactly he came to his findings. From my own observation KIS's ram usage was appropriate, but no way as low as Austerity described. My assumption is that Austerity might have taken avpui.exe's idle memory load as a reference point and not the actual service, avp.exe.

    From a personal point of view I'd rather have a product take the RAM it needs, as long as it's not excessive, instead of using tricks, like hiding in kernel memory or needless usage of the pagefile, with the latter actually decreasing performance if enough RAM is available.
     
  6. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes indeed, we have talked about it so many times in here, but not enough it seems :thumb:
     
  7. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    I took a screenshot just now so you could see. It's less than 7MB in this one.

    http://s2.postimg.org/w1lin2p6h/kaspersky.jpg

    Now I don't know how much of that is hidden, but I know that WSA shows around the same RAM use, EAM takes up about 60MB, BitDefender about 10MB, and ESET takes well over 100. I only point out observation from task manager, I have done nothing in depth to measure RAM usage because I have 32GB and could care less.

    A product can use 2GB of ram as far as I am concerned, as slow as it doesn't slow my pc down. I am more concerned about background cpu use and i/o read/writes.

    EDIT: Also take into account that I have Safe Money, Anti-Banner, Anti-Spam, Mail Anti-Virus and IM Protection disabled...I have no use for them. If I need safe money I will turn it on, on demand.
     
  8. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Exactly as I have suspected.

    apvui.exe is the gui (graphic user interface) process. The memory consumption shown there represents the amount when the user interface is closed. The actual protection process is the service avp.exe. It is hidden in the task manager. If you want to see it, you have to click on "Show processes from all users" in the lower left corner.
     
  9. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    http://s23.postimg.org/xrth3y4ej/kaspersky2.jpg

    Ok, so if you combined the two it's still right over 10MB. That's heavy? NOD32 fluctuates between 150-250MB in use, and the processes involved in WSA use more ram as well.

    As stated, RAM usage is a moot point to me. Patch e performs very well, I cannot tell it is there (same as Webroot).

    For my own testing, I ran SiSoft Sandra, Crystal, Passmark and 3DMark with no av, Webroot, and Kaspersky, and have found very little difference (enough for margin of error % wise) between them.
     
  10. nsm0220

    nsm0220 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    why is show all user is not open because thats where the other kis files are running in ram
     
  11. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    He already posted the updated screenshot.
     
  12. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    All this discussion of RAM usage is pointless, we discussed this endlessly in past years... you have solutions consuming 500MB of RAM with no impact whatsoever on use and other with 10MB and noticeable slow downs. Conclusion: don't be obsessed by I/O stream, RAM usage and 50ms delays... looks to the gloabal impact on use. ;)
     
  13. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    I meerly stated that after trying KIS 2014 again on patch e that it was noticeably lighter and faster and snappier and that I could not tell it was on my system. I also made the comment that it was only use around 7mb of ram. As I've already said twice, I have 32GB and the ram usage means nothing.

    Upon further investigation, it's using over 10MB. That's it.

    Either way, my point still stands.. KIS 2014 patch e doesn't slow down the loading of my system, nor anything else about it. I do have parts of it disabled (mentioned above). Interactive mode, trusted applications on, I really like this program, trust it, and don't feel like I need to layer anything else.

    I still use Sandboxie of course.
     
  14. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    For what it's worth, neither Austerity nor I where discussing the adequateness of KIS's RAM consumption. I was merely wondering why it was so low because I could never reproduce those figures on my system. Whenever I observed it with process explorer, it was around 50-100mb for avp.exe. That might have gone a little higher during an on-demand scan.
     
  15. Austerity

    Austerity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Georgia / USA
    My photos are idle after a fresh reboot (and letting it settle down), however I do have quite a few modules disabled (as noted above).
     
  16. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
  17. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    The 2014 version has become really refined now :thumb:.
     
  18. stephentony

    stephentony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Posts:
    142
    Location:
    USA
    I have to say I tried Kaspersky AV 2015 Technical Preview the other day and came away very impressed. I had not used KAV on any of my home PC's since maybe 2005.
     
  19. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Are you testing the latest beta 2015 by any chance?
     
  20. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,472
    Location:
    USA
    Do you know what difference there is between this and the file that was labeled as TR? This one in the file description says it is 15.0.0.463.0.6.0 and the TR was 15.0.0.463.0.7.0 and it also takes retail keys. I have been running the TR for almost 2 months without issue. Is there any reason I would want to replace it with this file? I'm assuming no unless someone knows why I should.
     
  22. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm sorry, I don't know anything about that.
     
  23. Lucius

    Lucius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Posts:
    77
    Nada, none. I would definitely wait until they release MR1 builds (for kav/kis/pure) of their 2015 version. They're beta testing it ATM.
     
  24. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,641
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Thanks for the info!

    I wonder why Kaspersky chose Bangladesh for the official release of 2015 while it's still heavily being tested ...or are their people being treated as guinea pigs? I know 2015 is in TR stage but devs have just released a new build 15.0.1.130 three days ago. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

    As for the links, at first I thought you posted a birthday card invitation by mistake :argh: Then, the FB photos show that 2015 is a serious thing now ;)
     
  25. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Stopped using it when The Squealing Pig Infection Notice was replaced :eek: used to scare the **** out of me That did!.. I fell out of my chair once went it went off with the volume up :isay:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.