kaspersky free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Blomberg1985, Jul 4, 2016.

  1. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    Not possible. Rock solid and stable on my PC.
     
  2. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    Absolutely certain. I was uninstalling Kaspersky with their tool and it hung my computer and I had to reboot it. It would not boot up at all after several attempts. I finally had luck doing a system restore. Never going to use any Kaspersky product after this.
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    KAV removal tool :)
    https://www.kaspersky.com/downloads/thank-you/free-virus-removal-tool
     
  4. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    This is the correct link -http://media.kaspersky.com/utilities/ConsumerUtilities/kavremvr.exe
    This removes Kaspersky, your removes malware.
     
  5. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    521
    Location:
    Belgium
    I uninstalled it too from my laptop when i tried it, boot and reboot took more than 5 min !o_O even had to shut off with the power button, than when it finally started up i uninstalled it right away (without any problem ,after one day)....
     
  6. Rafales

    Rafales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Earth
  7. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    Yeah, most of what is written is false, as anyone who installed KAF can attest to. There's no Google toolbars, Browsers or data sharing described.

    It's a marketing scare tactic from ESET. If they were serious about the matter, they'd provide hashes and screenshots of the install procedure.
     
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,434
    Location:
    Here
    They just mention Kaspersky at beginning and then switch to IMO Avast:
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,953
  10. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    Right, apologies. Although you could understand from the general tone of this paragraph one would think it's Kaspersky, since it's easy to miss the innocently put "(not Kaspersky)" further down.
    As I'm sure confused Rafales as well since he/she posted it in this thread, as well as the commentators on that webpage.
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,434
    Location:
    Here
    I agree. It's confusing article. They start with Kaspersky and then switch to other product which name they don't mention. Regular users might think that whole article is about Kaspersky.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,953
    AVG [Avast] -> ESET..........
     
  13. Rafales

    Rafales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Earth
    I got confused and I did not read the article properly.
    Saw a comment in Neowin site (attached).
    Even though its just a comment, has anyone using the "free" version noticed any strange network traffic sending data to some IPs ?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    It's the same as the paid version. There are two reasons people see KAV connecting to various CDNs:
    -It's filtering/scanning other applications' network traffic, including your OS traffic
    -It's consulting its cloud for detection. Load balancing on their servers is the most likely reason you will see it connection to various countries.
     
  15. Rafales

    Rafales Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Earth
    Thanks 3x0gR13N. I got to wait for few more months in my region to try the free one.
    Hope they have provided enough options for users to turn off/on on any additional features if provided (E.g. SSL inspection)
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,434
    Location:
    Here
    It has enough options IMO for free product. Even SSL scanning options:

    upload_2017-8-3_18-31-14.png
     
  17. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    It's not your fault. Certain pc configurations or old hardware (my case) 'don't like' the new v.2018 ;)
     
  18. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I am not very fond of replacing SSL certificate since reading this. I always disable it.
    https://blog.adguard.com/en/everything-about-https-filtering


    It takes sweet time uninstalling, it might look, that it has frozen, but it is actually working and to be fair, it leaves no leftovers.

    There are several features, which might have caused it, like a startup rootkit scan, etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    This is what I was using when I tried to uninstall KAV. The normal uninstall would get to where it was unregistering components and just sit there for nearly an hour. I then tried the uninstall utility which froze near the end and I had to reboot. All I could get was the blue screen until a system restore. I was running Win 10 on a relatively newer system.
     
  20. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    I don't know why you had the problem with KAV; it may not have been compatible with your PC's configuration.

    Its stable and runs light on my Windows 10 setup although I do have an older computer.
     
  21. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    The only thing I can think of is that I also have Adguard Premium which could possibly have a conflict.
     
  22. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,298
    What I don't like: secure connection, instant messenger scanning, mail scanning, Firefox add-on, registering a free version, animated systray icon, it's not as light as expected

    Time to uninstall ... :sick:
     
  23. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,434
    Location:
    Here
    You can configure all except lightness.
     
  24. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    KAV has web filtering like Adguard Premium and they're bound to conflict. Did you turn off the web filter protection in Adguard Premium?
     
  25. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354

    Everything but the kitchen sink... ahem BB.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.