kaspersky free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Blomberg1985, Jul 4, 2016.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    I guess I won't even test it, who will want to try a reduced version of KAV with a reduced protection when you have full AVs for free.
    I think this is their emergency strategy to stop losing users and feed their cloud.
    They are going to have a hard time in the consumer market if they don't adapt quickly
     
  2. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    KAV Free does offer basic protection but that's exactly its aim. Its not meant to compete with the company's premium products but rather to offer basic AV protection to every one.

    It succeeds at that goal rather admirably with a clean and user-friendly interface and its long overdue.
     
  3. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    850
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Paying for more is not the question for me.
    I have a unused payed KAV licence sitting here, but don't want to use it.
    I'm always looking for a layered security, with minimal impact and annoyance.
    As I rate myself a experienced user, I'm looking for a protection, that is not covered by brain.exe...
     
  4. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    Microsoft Edge and related apps like the Store are unable to access the internet. Uninstalled.
     
  5. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Italy
    Are you sure is KAV'S fault? It doesn't have a firewall to control the connections
     
  6. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    It appeared to be the KAV plugin for IE. Also, I have Adguard the two bumped heads. I uninstalled and reinstalled KAV without the IE plugin and it works fine now.
     
  7. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    Far East
    Anyone knows how often does the free KAV updates its definitions? Once a day, twice daily, every few hours or user customizable?

    TIA
     
  8. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    KAV Free appears to update every 24 hours. Paid edition, more frequently.
     
  9. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    You can also disable the plugin.
     
  10. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    KAV free updates as frequently as the paid version.
     
  11. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    Far East
    Confusing answers here.
     
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,449
    Location:
    Here
    When I tested it it was updating once an hour (if I remember correctly) but you could change schedule settings.
     
  13. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    Far East
    Can you check whether the update frequency is customizable?
     
  14. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,449
    Location:
    Here
    I would have to reinstall it in VM since I don't run it any more. I'll report as soon as I can test it.
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,449
    Location:
    Here
    Here are options when setting it up:

    upload_2017-8-2_18-6-10.png

    IDK how frequent automatic update is.
     
  16. 3x0gR13N

    3x0gR13N Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    792
    It will automatically update every two hours.
     
  17. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    587
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks
     
  18. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    after several attempts installing this on windows xp pro
    i get this pop up 3/4 of the way of install **see image
    error1.jpg
     
  19. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,299
    Very nice, testing it already. :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  20. Libraman

    Libraman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    51
    Hi
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition SP3 or later / Professional SP3 or later / Professional SP2 or later (64-bit)
    • Intel Pentium 1 GHz or faster (or a compatible equivalent)
    • 512 MB available RAM
    Kaspersky Free System Requirements
     
  21. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    KAV Free cannot be installed on FAT32 Windows.
     
  22. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    As far as I know I dont have FAT32
     
  23. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,628
    Location:
    Deep Into The Blues Baby..
    Here are my specs according to speccy...
    Operating System
    Windows XP Home Edition 32-bit SP3
    NTFS system
     
  24. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    758
    Kaspersky Free just totally bricked one of my computers. Rubbish. :mad:
     
  25. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,363
    Are you sure there weren't any leftovers from a previous antivirus you had installed?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.