Kaspersky AV&IS 2014 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by guest, Jul 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,311
    Location:
    USA
    Agreed. It seems that just as a product gets stable it's time for the next year's version.
     
  2. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    816
  3. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,537
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Has it changed ? Or is it the dumbed-down version as described in previous posts ?
     
  5. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,537
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    If by dumbed down you mean less sliders to slide & check boxes to check, i.e., less configurable, then the answer is 'Yes'. From my initial look it appears that a lot of the Advanced Settings in the sub menus are no longer accessible and you just select based on High, Medium or Low sliders, with some additional check boxes for some modules.

    But it may just be that these are not accessible in this version and will be in the MP1 versions, etc. It is difficult to tell, but it would definitively make KIS less scary a prospect for a large number of potential users who have been (wrong IMHO) put off by the level of configurability in previous versions.

    Having said that, the GUI is IMHO very clear, resource usage appears to be the lightest I can remember, scan speeds seem to be better...but not as configurable as before...if you are a die hard tweaker. :D
     
  6. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,260
    Location:
    Outer space
    I remember people hoping/requesting Custom Install would return with Maintenance Pack/Critical Fix 1 or even v2012, but it never did. My experience is if the devs change or remove something, it stays that way, regardless of user complaints.
     
  7. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    What would happen to the new installation of a boxed version of KIS 2013, license not previously activated ?

    Would you get an automatic upgrade to 2014, or would you be stuck with an outdated version of 2013 without patches/upgrades (assuming you don't opt for upgrading to 2014) ?
     
  8. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,260
    Location:
    Outer space
    I'm not sure with the boxed version, but normally when you buy a key you can use it with whatever version you like(i.e. 2012, 2013, 2014)
    So far updating to a new major version, i.e. from 2012 to 2013 is manual. When 2013 was released they still released patches for 2012 to fix bugs and keep the browser addons working with newer browser versions, so it's still supported, you just don't get the new stuff. You need to install 2014 yourself if you want it.

    If someone can confirm boxed version licenses are the same, you probably can download and install 2014 right away and activate it with your key from the box.
     
  9. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,387
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    While the activation code is proabably immediately good for KIS2014,to be 100% sure first install KIS2013 and activate it with your license>uninstall KIS2013>check the option to keep your license on your PC>Download and install KIS2014.

    From the Kaspersky Blog:

    "License Compatibility of Kaspersky Lab Products’ Versions



    We have discovered that we should keep a Quick Start Guide with an activation code that may be required to activate your application after re-installation. Let’s imagine that you re-install your operating system and Kaspersky Lab product. You have an activation code for Kaspersky Internet Security 2013 and visit the Kaspersky Lab official website to download the product. In this case, you will only find Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 and no 2013 version at all. Don’t worry! According to the License Agreement for your product, you can upgrade to the latest version of a product activated with your activation code.

    ...

    Let me explain some license features concerning license compatibility of home products’ versions.

    Product’s version compatibility can be presented with the following formula “-1/+3”. It means that you can activate your current version of the product, a previous version and three new versions when upgrading the product. So, you have an activation code for Kaspersky Internet Security 2010. In this case, you can activate the following product’s version: 2010 (purchased version), 2009 (previous version) and 2011, 2012, 2013 (three new versions)."

    http://blog.kaspersky.com/license-compatibility-of-kaspersky-lab-products/
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  10. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Is there a schedule when the dutch version will be released? :)
     
  11. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    it already out, may official released in next few days
    d.jpg
     
  12. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Bought it yesterday, but got the same error. Windows 8 x64.
     
  13. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,387
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Strange. I assume you uninstalled all your pre-existing security software first.

    I had no issues installing KIS 2014 on my Windows 8 64x machine.

    Keep tryind and post on the KIS Forum for help if needed.

    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showforum=4

    Before you post do this--it's always the first response to ask for this before any help will be given:

    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=915

    It will to identify any possible conflicts on your system.
     
  14. LunarWolf

    LunarWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Posts:
    203
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Is KIS 2014 buggy or should I stick with 2013?
     
  15. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    a fair number of people in this very thread have reported issues - i experienced extremely slow browsing, failure to start issues (the product fails to load), uninstall issues (uninstaller crashed when i tried to reinstall), etc.

    historically, kaspersky products can be a bit buggy out of the gate w/new releases. that being said, if 2013 is working okay, i'd suggest waiting for a patch or two to 2014. kaspersky will continue to support 2013.

    if you're gonna try 2014, be sure you export your settings from 2013. when i removed 2014 to reinstall 2013, it blew out my settings and i had to restore them from a backup i took prior to the install.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2013
  16. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    I've found this passage in the user documentation regarding the application control feature on 64bit Windows. Does this mean the application control's abilities are greatly diminished on 64bit or am I reading it wrong?

     
  17. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,537
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi there

    Have to say that I am experiencing none of what you have reported but then again I noticed that the version is now 14.0.0.4651(a) which strongly suggests that a patch has already been issued (as is the KL way)...which I did not even notice being installed.

    Here loading is quick, browsing impact is light and scan speeds seem excellent. Perhaps you were using the 4651 initial release version?
     
  18. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,311
    Location:
    USA
    Nice to see them disclose this issue. I'm sure these limitations are true for other vendors as well.
     
  19. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,162
    Location:
    UK
    Does KIS2014 have the option to scan certain areas after a database update?
    Run mode>schedule after database update.

    This is one of the option KIS has that other AVs doesnt have.

    Next feature that KIS has is to scan only the current directory selected ie NOT recursively.
    Is that still present?

    Running 2012 as 2013 had a big jump in memory usage according to PC Pro magazine review (UK)
     
  20. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Hello Friends!

    i have an valid license, and i want to install KIS 2014
    but i read here that its still buggy and a another person says its not buggy?
    can you give me a opinion or something what can help me to decide

    thanks
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,891
    Location:
    localhost
    You will only know by installing it. As you have seen it may be buggy for Mr. X it may be not for Mr. Y. How can anyone tell you if it is buggy for you? Just read the good and the bad and make your own assessment. Taking into account that an issue in a system may not appear in another. It is not buggy for me right now... :)
     
  22. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,537
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Also not buggy for me!

    Pablo, fax's advice is good...you will only know if you try once you have read the pros & cons as expressed in forums & reviews.

    Worst case...install it and try it but make sure that you have a before image of your hard disk and know how to restore to it in case things are not to your satisfaction after the installation and initial tests.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2013
  23. Pablo87

    Pablo87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Posts:
    324
    Ok.. Thanks guys for your reply's
    I think i need to wait bit longer, at this moment i cant find a link of dutch version.. :)
     
  24. Pain of Salvation

    Pain of Salvation Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Posts:
    398
    Does KIS 2014 leave junk files after uninstalled? Should I reinstall Windows?
     
  25. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,537
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Not sure what you mean by 'junk files' o_O
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.