Kaspersky AV&IS 2014 Released

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by guest, Jul 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Does anyone know if there will a mandatory 'upgrade' from KIS 2013 to KIS 2014 ?

    I like KIS 2013, but not 2014.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2013
  2. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,150
    Not for now, 2012 versions for example still have support.
     
  3. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,540
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Fly

    Presume you mean 'from KIS2013 to KIS2014'? ;)

    As far as I know they have never forced anyone to upgrade and I know of some persons continuing to use older versions until they were no longer supported in terms of definition updated, etc.

    Regards, Balders
     
  4. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,201
    Right. I should have been more careful before posting. :)

    Thanks.
     
  5. Giribbel

    Giribbel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I'm using a fork of firefox (cyberfox), is it possible to install the Security Certificate of Kaspersky manually?

    I can't install the addons of kaspersky.
     
  6. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    To install Kaspersky's certificate manually, you can do following steps
    - go to Settings > Additional > Network > Advanced settings > click Install certificate...>choose Certificate information: > new dialog will be opened > go to Details tab > choose Copy to file... and export certificate (DER encoded binary X.509 (.CER) to disk
    Snap_2013.08.18_21h14m50s_002_.jpg
    - open cyberfox (I'm using Palemoon:D ) > go to Options > Advanced > Encryption > View Certificate > Authorities tab > click Import... and select .cer file you have
    Snap_2013.08.18_21h08m27s_001_.jpg
    p/s: addons work with major browsers, so there is no supports for cyberfox:shifty:
     
  7. Giribbel

    Giribbel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks a lot thanthai2009, this worked!!!! :)

    I'm just facing a new problem with the Kaspersky SSL Certificate: My own website with HTTPS is being blocked and I can't add it to the exclusions of cyberfox anymore (worked without kaspersky ssl certificate).

    How can I make my website an exclusion of kaspersky's certificate?
     
  8. thanhtai2009

    thanhtai2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    Vietnam
    have you tried Add exception? AFAIK, Kaspersky certificate not works with Firefox right now, this is a known issueo_O
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Giribbel

    Giribbel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I can't add any exception when I'm using the certificate of Kaspersky. The button to add an exception is just disabled (greyed out) and not working anymore.

    If I disable the certificate of Kaspersky, I can add an exception and it's working.

    Is there some way to add this exception of my HTTPS secured website to Kaspersky's certificate?
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,423
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    I don't know what Cyberfox is but trying to install The KIS Certificate into the currently not supported FF23 caused me a lot of grief. First the cert would not install saying FF was running which it wasn't -- but after just trying to install the cert into FF it could not access several sites including my email and many others seemingly at random. Other browsers I had no problems with.

    But because I like FF I did a fresh upgrade install of FF 23 and am staying with the default network settings on KIS with no certificate installed in FF.

    According to a moderator on the KIS Forum FF23 compatibility will come with Patch b -- of course by that time FF will probably be up to FF 26 -- dunno why Kas is so slow updating for newer versions of FF other than Mozilla's insane upgrade cycle.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2013
  11. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Safe money crashes on Chrome and sometimes never opens on IE 10:rolleyes:
     
  12. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    yeah, that was my experience too w/2014 - that and hideous browser slow downs and kis program crashes when i tried to view the 2014 equivalent of application activity. uninstalled and went back to 2013. reminded me of why i usually avoid kaspersky's first release for new product versions.
     
  13. tomdy2k

    tomdy2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Thank you..now i feel better:)
     
  14. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    actually I have been using it for about a week and I like it. I really like it over the earlier versions. It is very light, a simplified GUI which I like and not a hit on my pc resources. Hate to say it folks but this may be the best version yet, no matter how you feel. It definitely grows on you.

    There are a few aggravations like the loading application delay on startup, but it is as light as Eset or WSA and may actually not have its hooks hooked in as deep. You can tell this by opening your browser and using your scroll wheel on your mouse, see if it is smooth or choppy. This is my old school tail-tail sign of knowing how much of a grab a product has.

    but again, I really like 2014, at least for now.
     
  15. chabbo

    chabbo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Posts:
    366
    fresh installed kis 2014. from scrath. kaspersky its not on auto start up. not even on autostart services. :/
     
  16. GSL

    GSL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Posts:
    79
    Unlikely for now. Each of their products version has a lifecycle of 3 years based on the date of a commercial released version(Eg: Version 2013 products which was released in August 2012 will be supported till August 2015).
     
  17. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,299
    I don't understand the "certificate" discussion. I have never encountered it or entered it in my browser.

    Would someone please explain what it is about?

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  18. Netherlands

    Netherlands Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    159
    It is used to scan SSL trafic.
     
  19. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,299
    Thanks. Is this new in 2014, as I have never been aware of it before now.
    I am not sure what SSL doeso_O??

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  20. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    572
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Hi Jerry...
    Read more here:

    -https://www.globalsign.com/ssl-information-center/what-is-ssl.html-
    -https://www.globalsign.com/ssl-information-center/what-is-an-ssl-certificate.html-
     
  21. Netherlands

    Netherlands Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    159
    Its there for a couple of years. SSL is used for a secure encrypted connection between for example your computer and a webserver.
     
  22. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,299
    Why have I never gad to do anything with a certificate? Is it something that the average user (Me) would not have to do anything with?
    I am in the slow group, obviously.:oops:

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  23. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131
    tried this over the weekend on my win8 machine totally disbled my wireless when coming out of sleep mode...silly me I reinstalled the driver and I allowed it to do it again. I had issues with another version of Kasperky IMO there are just too many yes men testing to ever get the bugs out. No wonder its a great stopper of malware you certainly can't surf on the web without a connection :)
     
  24. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,540
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Not sure what your problem is but installed here, as a test. Working just fine...especially the web browsing. Light as a feather in terms of impact on system. Can't seem to recreate what you are seeing. :doubt:
     
  25. larryb52

    larryb52 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    1,131

    coming out of sleep mode extended sleep like 3 hours or more seems to disable the driver it will repair itself but in 3 days it happened 5 times nothing new on the machine but it runs fine with anything else and I back up often...I usually us HP machines so maybe the make 3rdgen i5 6 megs ram, 750 hd and the machine flys with it and I like the program but I can't keep fixing the wireless , sorry but maybe its the machine but I have seen this before with Kis like i said I just don't think they do a completely good job of testing...just my 2 cents so please do not read into that. In general this every year thing with AV's is getting stupid...you just get a machine running nice and safe and there is a new version...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.