Kaspersky Antivirus 2009 and Comodo Firewall Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Victek, Jun 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I just installed KAV 2009 and it required that I uninstall Comodo Firewall Pro first. Any idea why KAV sees CFP as incompatible, and is it really? I've read that some people reinstall CFP and the two programs get along.

    And by the way, I also have SAS Pro and I wonder if the real-time protection is redundant or if it could interfere with KAV? TIA
     
  2. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Please refer to this thread in Kaspersky's forum; it answers many questions regarding compatibility of Comodo and KAV2009: http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=69909

    Also, if you want to install both, the best course of action is to uninstall Comodo, install Kaspersky, install Comodo.
    Also a good idea to add each to the TrustedZone/Exclusions of the other to avoid them both scanning what the other is doing (and reduce possibility of a problems).

    SAS will not interfere with KAV2009 and is compatable; once again, its a good idea to add each to the other's TrustedZone/Exclusions so they dont both scan what the other's doing.
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Do you feel there is another third party firewall that compliments KAV 2009 better?
     
  4. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    I don't know; I have been using Kaspersky Internet Security (integrated firewall) for the last few years, so do not have opinions and cannot give recomendations regarding other firewalls because I have not used any others recently
     
  5. Lawliet

    Lawliet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    You can try use Comodo block follow:
    *\cleanapi.exe
    *\cleanapi.dll

    But i am no recommend.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.