Kaspersky alternative

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by emile77, Dec 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emile77

    emile77 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    17
    Hi ,
    My anti-virus is 'Kaspersky anti-virus version 5' and works well , except that it scans everything and when I open a folder (especially if it's the folder where I put the '.exe' files downloaded by softwares) , and I have to wait from 10 seconds to 2 minutes sometimes before I can do anything.
    When I want to make a scan of a document , 'KAV' scans what the scanner does so this one stops with an error and I have to stop Kaspersky , block Internet by means of my firewall (I'm permanently connected to Internet by a router) , then power-off the scanner , power-on , then launch scanner soft and retry all.
    I've tried KAV version 6 , but it's worse , because I can't use any firewall (otherwise I can't connect to Internet).
    I've also tried 'Kaspersky Internet Security 6' , but there's no firewall in this soft (impossible to block Internet) and no anti-spyware can work even with KIS6 stopped.
    So , I should be happy if anybody could recommend an anti-virus efficient and which lets me work with my computer without disabling this anti-virus.
    Thank's a lot ,
    emile
     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Re: Kaspersky altrenative

    i dont fully understand your question here,

    but kaspersky internet security 6 DOES have a firewall, its called anti-hacker.
    kaspersky will scan whatever you set it to,
    firewalls do work with KAV 6, you have not set it right.. maybe try a tutorial.
    kaspersky scans for adware / spyware etc etc already.
    if your behind a router 'with firewall', you dont need a firewall unless you want application control

    im behind a router with nat firewall, and i use dr.web with no problems with anything so far, there are many antivirus softwares out there, and also many suites... i suggest you try a few trials and see which you like best.

    antivirus that maybe you could try:

    AntiVir
    Nod32
    dr.web
    norton 2007
    avg

    suites id recommend are:

    f-secure 2007
    norton 2007
    trend micro 2007
    avg 7.5


    good luck, and hope you find one that you like and 'does what you want it to'
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2006
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    im not quite sure what you mean eiether.
    i installed kaspersky internet secuirty 6.0 yesterday on my main pc and its working like a charm.
    antihacker is the firewall.

    if you have problem with it then ask at the kaspersky forums here
    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showforum=4
    they can help you sort it out.
    lodore
     
  4. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    You shouldn't have this many problems with any antivirus program.
    Disabling the antivirus defeats the purpose.
    You should go to the Kaspersky forum and see what they suggest for helping you solve the problem.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi emile77 !

    If you are unhappy with your current product , try eset NOD32 .
    Information about it can be found here
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Nah, I would go with this.
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    we could do this all day,

    yeah but i would go with this

    lol :D
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    But we wont.:)
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i would just go to the kaspersky forum ask there and if you cant get it sorted out then for for alternatives.
    lodore
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    :D :D

    Are you sure ?
     
  11. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Have you configured KAV to 'concede resources to other applications'?

    (that's what they call it in KAV 6, though there is bound to be a similar feature in KAV 5)
     
  12. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    No such feature in 5.0............and actually some for example on dual core have noticed a better performance with that feature unchecked! Works for most though and you should experiment with it.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.