Kaspersky 7 still has major issues

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by trjam, May 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Just removed it to put Avira back on to see how the updating goes over the next few days. On rebooting I get the chkdsk screen telling me their are consistency problems and the disk must be scanned. It then says something about orphan files need to be replaced. So, Kaspersky, keep your software and all that goes with it. It seems the old, is still in the new. Lodore, enjoy my gift as I would not install this crap again for a million dollars. Is there anyone out there that can make a safe, reliable and good product anymore. Geez, I could not believe this. And this isnt bashing but stating a fact.
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks for the gift jeff:thumb:
    have you reported the bugs to the kaspersky 119tr thread?
    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=38710&st=100
    lodore
     
  3. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    no and why should I. I no longer want any association with the "flavor of the week."
     
  4. huntnyc

    huntnyc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Brooklyn, USA
    I removed it version 7 not because of that problem but because I cannot stand continued degraded speed of browsing. Went back to NOD32 2.7 and waiting on 3 and maybe looking at Avira again who knows.

    Gary
     
  5. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Are you referring to the Chkdsk problem in 2006 or some other problem about inefficient KAV removal that causes Chkdsk to popup after removing KAV?

    Kaspersky has stated that the Chkdsk problem in 2006 is a figment of users imaginations. So, why is it a surprise that the problem persists in 2007? With that sort of attitude, it will never be addressed. If your Chkdsk problem is something different...well, I don't know.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,039
    Geesh, this is like a stuck record. Go to the Kaspersky forum, and look for the volumes of people reporting problems. Aren't there. If it really is a problem go to the forum, report it, and provide Kaspersky something concrete to work on it. Continually posting the same thing over and over again, accomplishes nothing.
     
  7. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    First of all I wasn't replying to you. I was replying to trjam. I'm not sure what he means and why did you try to answer the question I asked him? Can you read his mind? I can't. ;)

    Secondly, this is not a stuck record. The thread is still alive and kicking at Kaspersky forums. I was just reading the last few pages about a week ago and apparently the problem is still there and maybe even worse in the 2007 version.

    Thirdly, I have been a major contributor to the thread (although not since I uninstalled KAV). So, I'm a bit puzzled. What more do you expect me to do? I reported the problem as soon as I discovered it on my computer. Luckily, probably because I never did a full scan when I had KAV for those six months last year, and I immediately unchecked use ISwift and IChecker, I had a milder experience of the problem. I have not had Kaspersky since last December but I still have the Chkdsk problem that it left me as a "remember me by" present. Are you saying I should install Kaspersky again and allow it to do more damage in the hope that I can figure out a way to provide Kaspersky with more clues so they can "find" the problem themselves? That is asking awful lot especially considering that I still might not be able to provide them with whatever is they lack to discover the problem themselves. Plus, there are many others in the thread with far superior computer skills to mine who can better provide clues to the puzzle.
     
  8. tamdam

    tamdam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    88
    well I have used kis6 and kis7 and never had any chkdsk problems. But anyhow, I don't see this as a big issue - I have in the past had chkdsk "problems" (before I even heard of kaspersky - so not kaspersky related) but never knew it until I ran it after a incomplete shutdown. And yet Windows XP was sailing along nicely - so I didn't worry. I think chkdsk problems are overhyped - it finds a few fragments - so what? It could equally be caused by bad shutdown or whatever. Does it really affect your windows installation? I've had chkdsk report errors straight after a clean install! And yet XP runs fine and snappy (until you download all those windows updates :S) There are many happy users of kaspersky products - if it really did cause serious chkdsk corruption (which I doubt) then why aren't all kaspersky users having harddisk corruption troubles?
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    People
    What are we talking about. Version 7 haven't been released officially yet. People try software and say (shout ) it is the best in the world and everybody needs to know. Next a minor problem occurs and it is the worst in the world. Then they try another and same thing happens.

    You can shout over here or all over the internet if you like but that doesn't help anyone. If you have any issues please post them over at the Kaspersky forum so the Mods can help or maybe even better so that the Kaspersky specialists can do something about it.There are several members of the KL Team on the forum all of the time.
     
  10. colt45allstar

    colt45allstar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Posts:
    65
    I've had none of the mentioned issues.

    No chkdsk problems or anything. (of course didn't have the problems with 6.0 or my admittedly limited time with 5.0 either)

    This is the smoothest running security software I've ever ran on my computer bar none. I've tried older versions of Norton Internet Security... Avira (though to be fair Avira's made huge strides since then and if I didn't like Kaspersky so much I would give it another try) Nod 32 and Zone Alarm Pro Combination... could go on and on.

    This pc is a pile of crap also.. just being honest. (hey I'm stuck with it until the other one gets fixed)

    As bare bones as bare bones gets and everything is running great.

    In regard to the decreased speed mentioned by another user... Web surfing is much much faster on this end than it was with 6.0...which in turn was much faster than nod32 with imon enabled)

    Hourly updates.. a willingness to improve heuristics.. proactive defense and a program that runs this well on the computer?

    Just goes to show how programs react differently on different computers.

    Myself? Baring something unforeseen I'm a KIS user for life at this point.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I know what I saw and it was the old problem rearing its head. May be a issuer to some and not to others. Gary, after a few days, 7 slows everything down as bad as 6, folks will see this the more that use it. I agree for speed and detection, Eset and Avira, also Dr. Web.
     
  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,512
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    This is a beta for goodness sake. If it was a final, that'd be different.
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    excuse me, this is the tr release and I dont think there will be any changes in the drivers and say about a week from now. Look, to each his own, but I know what I experienced and I am not going through it again.
     
  14. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,633
    Location:
    UK
    I still keep saying this, and I'll say it again: I'd love somebody to do a comparative study to find out WHY it works on some machines and not others. Only by doing that will we find out what really is causing the problem some users experience.
     
  15. mnosteele

    mnosteele Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA USA
    I think it's due to some type of conflict with another program. I'm a KL reseller and have installed KAV hundreds of times and have never seen this issue. I use all the same software for all of my clients because I know there are conflicts with different applications. I just don't think it's KL fault, their technicians are very open to suggestions, complaints and requests. I think in the hundreds of installs I've done that I would have seen this at least once if it was KAV.

    :)
     
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    You have made your point so why don't you change the record? Just because you are having a does not mean that everyone else is. I have been running KIS 7 since Build 55 of the beta and have NEVER had an internet slowdown. KIS 7 has been consistently faster than KIS6 (and anything else I have tested) ON MY PC.

    And whilst we are about it I tried Avira and it slowed my PC down...so where do we go from here. Well, we just have to accept that this will always happen so we have to trial software, find what works well on ones own PC and go with that (I dropped NIS2006 because it did not work well on my PC but before that I had run Norton AV products since early WIndows 95 with nothing but very good performance.

    So lets all grow up a bit, eh!;)
     
  17. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,512
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Similar situation. I had run of a friends house & computer a few weeks ago. He has McAfee Security Center running perfectly well on it. That confounds me & my feelings about McAfee. But I have to accept it. I saw it. Still not for mine.
     
  18. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i too have problems with K7 and also with past versions, i dont know the reasons but it has never ran well for me, it really is hit or miss....

    i know many people have problems with kaspersky, i simply just cant run it for more than a day without getting a problem, but then again... i know many other people have no problems with kaspersky.

    its a query that should be made, as its a puzzle to me why this is, all the same 'problems' happen in k7 aswell as previous versions for me, this is possibly a reason why i say i dont see such a big difference between the versions, i dont know.

    and i a decent enough machine, a good dual core cpu and 2gb ddr2 ... so its not a performance issue.
    my machine is pretty barebones, i really dont like installing or even having anything on my machine that i dont use, im kinda funny like that. :)

    it is confusing, why why why

    o_O
     
  19. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,512
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I'd venture it's some program/service that's always running. Like HIPS, imaging/disaster recovery, defrag, AS or some such programs.
     
  20. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    As for myself I don't even questioning anymore. They are only Software after all.;) If one of them is not compatible with my machine, I just ditch it and try another one.:)
     
  21. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    On my main PC both Kav6 and Kav7 run lighter than Nod32 when the settings are set to be as near as possible to be the same,on my daughters PC the same result,but on my sons Nod 32 runs a lot lighter than Kav6(never tried any Kav7 builds on that one!)So,as mentioned by others,which of the ones will run best is dependent on what is in your pc(hardware)and what is on it(software)I am of the opinion there is no definitive answer which covers every user,as for checkdisc errors:-never had them with Kav(didn't know others had either until I read this thread:-not something I've ever needed to investigate!)
    The phrase "horses for courses" seems apt!
     
  22. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    Yes I agree competely,I can't understand how some users can become so fanatical over something that in the end is just a "tool"
     
  23. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I totally agree and thus, ditched KIS 7.:rolleyes:
     
  24. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    That's perfect.:) The only difference between you and me is that I don't make a big fuss over the Forum when I ditch a Software.;)
     
  25. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i will have to learn that one:D
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.