Kaspersky 2019

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ander3, Mar 23, 2019.

  1. ander3

    ander3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    There seems to be some privacy concerns these days about Kaspersky and other A/V software uploading files to the database for cloud protection. Personally, I don't want to have any files on my PC uploaded. I also worry about what data is being collected (browsing habits, etc.). Avira, for instance, reportedly "uploads copies of suspicious files to Avira's labs for analysis. Whatever is deemed dangerous is added to the malware-signature updates that go out several times a day to Avira's 400 million users. This data collection necessarily includes customers' system profiles, computer usage habits and browsing histories.", according to tomsguide.

    Can Kaspersky be trusted not to do this? I know Kaspersky has the ability to upload files it considers suspicious, but can I disable this uploading of files for collection? And if so, is it obeyed? According to some users, even when Cloud Protection is disabled in Avira, it uploads files anyways, ignoring the setting.

    I'd like to check Kaspersky free out, but I'd like to hear some thoughts about this before I do.
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,307
    Location:
    USA
    Every AV does this. Well, I'm sure there are exceptions, but every mainstream AV does these things. Run without AV, or pick one from the country you trust the most.
     
  3. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,006
    If you are very concerned for privacy, then I recommend looking up Emsisoft.

    There's actually a giveaway going on right now over at Malwaretips forum.
     
  4. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    ESET allows you to select what will be uploaded if anything and warns you when a suspicious file is being uploaded... You can allow exe files but not documents, for instance.
     
  5. faircot

    faircot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    UK
    Well, if your privacy really concerns you, consider what you have to agree to even be to entered into this particular lottery. No thanks.

    To participate in our Emsisoft Anti-Malware Giveaway:
    1. 1. You have to be a registered member on our forum.
    2. You must use your real IP address to enter the giveaway.
    3. If you enter the giveaway using a proxy or VPN,You Will Be Disqualified.
    4. Please "Like" Emsisoft on their Facebook and or Twitter pages.
    5. Share the giveaway news on Facebook or Twitter, so that others may enjoy it.
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,593
    #4 and #5 are why i don't like mt giveaways. fb and tw; no sir, thank you.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2019
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,593
    @ander3

    well, most, if not all, av sw already have that info if your rig's online, you know. you cannot hide your "computer usage habits and browsing histories" [sic] from a sw that has low level access to every single file on your rig, otherwise it cannot "protect" you. but you can disable suspicious file upload in most major av sw including kaspersky. i'd say if you trust ms to have access to everything on your rig, then why not do the same with kaspersky or avira or any other reputable 3rd party av vendor?
     
  8. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    183
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    In Kaspersky European versions, You may disable this option:

    https://imgur.com/a/wgVtbQp

    But I would not disable completely KSN, because You will miss a great protection feature...
     
  9. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What are the best settings for Kaspersky Internet Security 2019?
     
  10. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  11. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Wonderland
    More ability to customize settings in KSC. That's it. KFA is set and forget.
     
  12. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,006
    You can change settings in Security Cloud but you are require an account.
     
  13. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,801
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  14. robboman93

    robboman93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Holland
    Is Kaspersky security cloud free compatible with Comodo Firewall V12? Anyone tested this combo?
     
  15. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    603
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I works (great) if you install Comodo after Kaspersky, but it's not recommended by Kaspersky.
     
  16. robboman93

    robboman93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2018
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Holland
    Alright! Thanks for the reply.
     
  17. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,861
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Does Kaspersky security cloud free or paid have a Firewall. I have the free and it has a Network Attack Blocker Setting. That does not sound like a firewall. Does the paid KSCF have a Firewall.
     
  18. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    183
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    KSCFree no, paid KSCloud has FW... NetWork Attack Blocker is a different module:
     
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,861
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I don't really want to spend 53 dollars a year on the paid KSCloud just to get the Firewall. I would like to do the trial to see how it is, but it might want to uninstall the free first which i have all set up now with the settings i want.
     
  20. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    183
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Not only the FW but Application Control (most important) and other extra features...
     
  21. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,861
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    Does the paid KSCloud have app control.
     
  22. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,861
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I tried to download the trial for paid KScloud but the link did not work, so i would have to buy it.
     
  23. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,861
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  24. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Regarding this article Kaspersky Security Cloud Personal/Family includes Application Control and Firewall:

    Code:
    https://support.kaspersky.com/kscloud20/settings/protection
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2019
  25. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    164
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    It is not necessary to install Comodo after Kaspersky (at least for the free version). I installed Kaspersky after Comodo Firewall and it works well (for over 2 years now) but don't forget to add the files/folders to the exclusions of both programs because I noticed some anomalies (if the HIPS is enabled in the Comodo settings). It interfere with the Kaspersky's System Watcher (especially when installing new software, windows updates or drivers). I am currently testing some settings and I think I was able to solve this annoying issue.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.