Kaspersky 2009 released!!!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ingem64, Jun 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ingem64

    ingem64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    36
  2. Pseudo

    Pseudo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Posts:
    193
    It still shows v7 for me. o_O
     
  3. The_Duality

    The_Duality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    Still V7 for me too.
     
  4. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,299
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    The release of KIS 2009 is being staggered. So far I think that France and another European country have it (Build 357). Visibility on the Kaspersky.com site is based on them detecting your IP address and hence you country location. That is why you guys (Duality & Pseudo) see v7 and ingem64 sees 2009 version.

    Where are you based ingem64?:D
     
  5. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    all you have to do is change the country to France or Germany at the top.
     
  6. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Man, they want like $61.00 for 2 PCs just for the AV.:cautious:
     
  7. Honyak

    Honyak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    346
    Location:
    Deep South
    And renewal went up, I am due soon for renewal, I had checked about two months ago and it was $69.00 for three years (1 user), now it is $83.00 (1 user).
    Still a decent deal for what you get, but I am not convinced I need this much from an av with my conservative surfing habits.
     
  8. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Can't believe it ain't released to the whole masses yet :ouch:
     
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    It is Look Again :ninja:
     
  10. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Nope... lay off the crack. 7.0 v 325 is on the US site. So 2009 isn't everywhere.
     
  11. ingem64

    ingem64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    I am from Slovakia.
    :cool:
     
  12. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  13. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Lol It's been a month since Kaspersky was available in Albania
     
  14. zer0l0gic

    zer0l0gic Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Posts:
    52
    ...and it's unstable, causes BSOD's on shutdown, misses 'fraudware' on download (option to detect other threats such as fraudware is ticked) yet after fraudware is downloaded and manually scanned with Kaspersky - it's magically detected!? :cautious:

    2009 is not a good year for Kaspersky products. Buggy as hell.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    my webav in kis2009 alerts me to fraudtools on download.
    see screenshot
     

    Attached Files:

    • look.JPG
      look.JPG
      File size:
      34.3 KB
      Views:
      2,052
  16. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Actually this version is pretty stable. Never had a BSOD. Catches every type of threat on download, and I don' understand where you find so many bugs. The only bugs it has (build 357) are a few GUI bugs.
     
  17. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland

    I have tested Kav 2009 on my system and it does run stable and ok for web browsing, but for full system scan it causes my system to use over 600 mb of ram and rises, disabled modules in kav and also tried hotfix C, not that I am saying hotfix C fixes high memory usage, but just to see if this made any difference, but to no avail, high memory usage is a no go for me unfortunatly.
    I will try kav 2009 when MP1 is released so bacK to nod32 for me once again.
    There are more issues than just a few gui bugs if you look over on the kaspersky forum version 357, http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.ph...=Z-A&sort_key=last_post&topicfilter=all&st=60.
    This of course is not just av programmes from kaspersky but you see issues with lots of other different programmes as well.
    They are working on hotfix c to reduce some issues with both kis and kav 2009 version 357 and have also released beta build 420 as well to improve both programmes, but I will just wait a little longer till MP1 is released, then I will try kav 2009 again, but for other users of both kis and kav they find it runs very well on there systems, but as many people already know, no two systems are the same.


    THE MUL
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  18. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Wow, it's strange. I have given KIS 2009 to all the ones I know and no one had a problem. Full system scan may go at max 100MB for me.. Maybe some kind of conflict?
     
  19. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland

    Yes it is strange, but others are experiencing the same issue, I did clear out all other major security programmes and cleaned up my system with reg cleaners and removed all traces of these programmes then installed kav 2009 build 357 with hotfix a and b, all went well and stable and also browsing, but full scan was just way to high, started of ok for a little while, then memory rises to over 600mb and higher.
    Have a read of this on the kaspersky forum about other people having issues with high memory usage during scans, here is the link, read both pages and you will see my post as well.


    http://forum.kaspersky.com/index.php?showtopic=72288&st=0

    THE MUL
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2008
  20. the mul

    the mul Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Posts:
    1,703
    Location:
    scotland
    I was wondering what settings do you have kis 2009 set at, are they at recommended settings, when you installed Kis, or have you set them all to high and deep scans.


    THE MUL
     
  21. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Max settings with max heuristics and deep rootkit scan. But I've disabled vulnerability scanner.
    All files scanned, all archives scanned, all installation archives scanned, all embedded OLE objects scanned.
     
  22. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    Maybe it may fit in this threat. When I trialled Kaspersky 2009 at work in a virtual machine, it caused big conflicts. It made programs crash several times a day, to name a few:
    • Firefox 3
    • Adobe Acrobat Pro 8

    Besides of that, there were major slowdowns in launching applications like Everest Ultimate. After a couple days I restored my image, and installed F-Secure Client Security, no problems at all... :doubt:


    ps. All problems were reported to Kaspersky. The operating system was Windows XP SP3 EN/RU.
     
  23. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
    Well I don't have acrobat but I have firefox 3 and no problems here... No slowdowns in launching big apps like Adobe Flash or Photoshop..

    Task manager screenshot while running a quick scan with max settings: http://img59.imageshack.us/img59/6031/task1lh7.jpg

    PS:and I didn't either use the removal tool to remove KIS 7, I used revo uninstaller...
     
  24. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    Fixed with hotfix C. It should be released soon (last stages of testing). Slowdown should only happen on large, packed executables for the first time while K analyses it.
     
  25. Sputnik

    Sputnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,198
    Location:
    Москва
    @Baz_kasp
    However Kaspersky re-analyzes after every update of the database. Good to hear the problems should be fixed. It's a shame such problems still exist in a public release.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.