KAH 1.5 beta is released !

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by GeN, May 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GeN

    GeN Guest

    Looks pretty well ...
     
  2. tahoma

    tahoma Guest

    whats new?any screenshots?
     
  3. Clweb

    Clweb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Posts:
    127
    Location:
    France
    Nice, no annoying popups, but the logs are always empty.
    Test at PC Flank und ShieldsUP showed me stealth.
     
  4. controler

    controler Guest

    Link for interested in testing it

    http://www.kaspersky.com/beta.html

    I installed antihacker again and after the reboot I got the message that the install could not find the KEY file which i am assuming was the reg key and it said OR trial has expired. I could not get the AV or the firewall to work for me

    con
     
  5. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    mhmmMm well I like this firewall :) it it VERY good..

    But I get a lot of supposed Helkern attacks now, which I dont think are really occurring.. they weren't there until I upgraded, and are only there when I'm on WinMX.. nothing downloading either so maybe its thinking they are malicious UDP packets :D

    Of course they werent being detected in the old version.. but still

    Hard to say :doubt:
     
  6. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    wow I really want to try this version, but alas Im having the same hassles that you are con . Its like being all dressed up with nowhere to go lol :)

    At least you have it flowing well gavin
     
  7. GeN

    GeN Guest

    Strange ... I do not have such problem on WinME ... Even when I use it in a large LAN-network ... Did you try to monitor packets using a sniffer ? maybe you are really under attack ? :rolleyes:
     
  8. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I'll be playing with it more tonight, I dont think they would get the detection of Helkern UDP packets confused, but perhaps with many users having a file and WinMX checking, queuing and trying to download off them all at once there is a chance ? I dont know much about the WinMX sharing and connection protocol so its unknown.. yet :D

    Hopefully its just :D an attack
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Controler and SPC

    I do not have KAH installed at present but I believe the problem could be related to you both having KAV already installed on your machines.

    I have vague memories of installing the firewall when KAV IS ALSO INSTALLED. For some reason, the firewall could not recognise its keyfile.

    From what I remember, I had to uninstall KAV, then install KAH, then reinstall KAV. The order of installation seemed to be important.

    I presume, both of you have KAV installed; I know SPC does.

    So see if the above works; it did for me!

    Once the KAH comes out of the beta, maybe we can ask Lisa for a better solution.

    Hope the above works for you.
     
  10. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Hey blackcat :) Yea I emailed support at kav labs and they were very onto it . Things are improved there heaps . I received 5 emails in 4 hours from 3 diffirent peoples who systematically gave there assistance . Very fastt support. I used the Kav registry cleaner and then used Lisa s link she gave at ice forum http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?s=3ecd46b879ccffff;act=ST;f=1;t=47
    for the KAH download as I was having hiccups with the download at the Kaspersky official site.
    It goes really sweetly and gets full stealth etc One just has to tick the stealth box when it comes up and close KAH down then start it again, otherwise it will not activate first time use.

    It is as nice as it was b4 except complete stealth now .

    Controller , maybe you may have better luck with Lisa s link at the above . There is a key to download also which I copied into the Kah setup files in my kaspersky folder once I had commenced loading the Kah. I had to do this, at that stage where it was asking for the key file. So I copied it from my desktop and pasted it in the set up files for KAH. Then added it from the Kah setup by clicking add on the dialogue box where it was asking for the key .
     
  11. controler

    controler Guest

    I did have KAV installed and because I had installed and uninstalled an earlier version. The registry entry was still there and thought mt trial was over. I did download the utility and ran it. I was then able to get KAV installed. I also got a KEY from Lisa. I could not get KAV to work properly so I uninstalled it again. I thought for sure I ran the utility agan afterwords. I since deleted the mail containing my KEY, thinking I
    would leave KAV alone. Then I saw the post for the new Kaspersky Firewal beta and of course had to rush and download , being the software junki I am :). I will run the Utility again and try installing
    the firewall again. Do I still need a Key for this Beta?
    Also: I am trying the new NOD Beta for now and it seems to be working out just fineexcept for the update funtion.
     
  12. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Yes if you use the link at http://forums.useice.com/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?s=3ecd46b879ccffff;act=ST;f=1;t=47
    It will load you to the download page where there is a key also You may be best to delete the KAH download you may have already and use a fresh one ( ie dare i say it , run the kav reg cleanup , then download the version that Lisa gave us)

    .I had to copy the key to my desktop and then load it into my programme files folder after I had loaded up KAH onto my system , just when it was asking for the key file , as I was not sure wether it was in the KAH set up folder. You may not find that its the same for you , But I mention it anyways .

    Its a nice sweet firewall and worth having a go with it :)

    Lisa said that the beta pariod is for the rest of the month , but Im sure the key doesnt expire till sept
     
  13. controler

    controler Guest

    Thanks

    I will sure give it a try again and let you know how it goes

    con
     
  14. controler

    controler Guest

    Downloaded the new Antihacker file from the link above.
    Downloasded the Kav Reg clean.exe file.
    Downloaded the Key file.
    Ran The Kav Cleaner.
    Installed Antihacker.
    Got the screenshot shown below.
    At this point I lost my internet connection completly again.
    Uninstalled Antihacker to get my connection back.
    I took a peek at the Key file to see the serial number.
    Not sure where I can ad this to the registry.
    I tried the Add Key Exe file located in the Antihacker program folder before installing Antihacker but didn't do any good.
    I am open to any new ideas, otherwise I will be forced to stop trying tominstall Antihacker.
     
  15. controler

    controler Guest

    Screen Shot
     

    Attached Files:

  16. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Hi con , This worked for me

    clean up registry with kav cleaner . If you havent any kav products then have the 3 checked in those boxes

    I went to the ice forum site and downloaded
    1. key
    2. KAH antihacker (both to my desktop )



    I closed completely all programmes on my pc ( so nothing is loaded nor am I online)

    3. clicked on Kantihacker on my desktop ( this began set up . )

    4 When it got to the part where you are to load in your key file, I went back to my desktop. (leaving present set up as it is

    5 On the desktop I copied the Key file and opened up > start. programme files > Windows explorer >kaspersky labs > Setup files > kaspersky anti hacker> cd english> and pasted it in there . I closed windows explorer

    6 Going back to the Kah set up on my desktop I clicked on "Add"

    It opened up for me the location where Kah is in my programmes files where the key had just been placed
    If it hasnt you need to make sure it is showing that location.
    Then click on "save" and it will load that key into the present box

    Then continue onto next and it will do it all for you .

    :)
     
  17. controler

    controler Guest

    SPC

    I didn't get Antihacker to load after reboot at all.
    Right after reboot I got the message I posted as a screen shot.
    I could never load Antihacker to insert the KEY. Everytime I tried to load it, I got the same popup error with trial expired or Key.
    I am guessing their is still a resistry entry the program looks at that
    The Cleaner files is not removing.
    I am sure it could be manualy added to the registry. I just don't know were.
     
  18. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    con had you already loaded in the key before you rebooted , as if you had and you get that sign there is something wrong . But if you walk thru those steps that io found wiorked , and manually copy and paste the key , then it will load on when you apply the add button .
    I have had to go fron memory in my previous post (last one ) but it does work manually coping and pasting

    if you felt like it you may wish to contact

    Obolochkov Timofey
    beta test specialist
    support@kaspersky.com
     
  19. controler

    controler Guest

    The install program asked to reboot to finish the install.
    I guess I could have tried loading Antihacker before booting to see if it would load before finishing the install
     
  20. controler

    controler Guest

    Hello All :)

    I got Antihacker to install on my Windows XP Home system.

    Steps:

    1. Download the Antihacker program

    2. Download the KEY

    3. Install the Antihacker program but when Install asks to restart computer , click NO

    4. Right click on the KEY file and select merge

    5. RIght click on the KEY again and select ADD

    6. Reboot

    7. Antihacker rpogram now starts just fine

    8. OPPS !!!!!!!!!!! NO internet connection again

    9. Tried unticking all the packet filtering and application filters , rebooting and still no internet connection.

    10. Tried rebooting router and even using no router. tried all the repairing network connection option in Windows.

    11. Uninstalled Antihacker and NOW have internet connection back.

    What is Antihacker doing to my connection so that I can not connect?

    One more thing:
    Ticking the oprion to NOT start Antihacker with System Start does not work.
    Antihacker still keeps starting up.
     
  21. GeN

    GeN Guest

    hmmm ... very very strange ... Whan kind of network connection do you have ?
     
  22. controler

    controler Guest

    I use DSL but the connection would be concidered as a LAN to Antihacker. not dialup.
    actualy tried Antihacker on two different internet connections on this same computer. I been too lazy to reformat. been too busy fishing :)
     
  23. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    Hope you have had better luck with the fishing. :)

    I tried it but even though i do like it have now taken it off . I experienced a few hicups. it maybe because Im not running IE , Im using Mozilla Firebird . Must say the Bitgaurd personal firewall is really cool and just flows so nicely . As nice as Look n Stop on my system . And so easy to install . My system seems to go faster with it on than with no firewall , which is amazing. :cool:
     
  24. GeN

    GeN Guest

    hmmm ... well, I could talk to you by ICQ to manage the problem... if you're interested.
    my number is 11040555
     
  25. solarpowered candle

    solarpowered candle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    new zealand
    From the Kav swiss newsletter http://www.avp.ch/E/dlkah15.stm

    .) Preview Kaspersky Anti-Hacker v1.5

    Kaspersky Anti-Hacker v1.5, the easy-to-use personal firewall from
    KasperskyLab is available for preview and will be released soon.

    You can test-drive the english preview version free of charge for
    a limited time.



    Kaspersky Anti-Hacker v1.5 Preview version
    Note: this is a preview/beta release. Use at your own risk :)

    Try it!

    To do so, you will need to:

    * download the installation executable
    * save the demo key file into the same directory where you downloaded the installation executable
    * then run the installation program and select the demo key file.

    Special preview offer: 1 year license for only USD 25.00 (List-price USD 39.00) - this offer is valid until June-15-2003 only. Click here.

    Nice price
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.