K7 AV Plus gave me Bluescreens = goodbye!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Dermot7, Apr 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Windows 7 SP1 32bit with WSA Complete and Privatefirewall. Been running nice and light and stable, with only about 30 applications installed, and a little help from BlackViper. :)
    Was curious to try K7 alongside WSA, having read a little about it, and having that 'itch' (like a lot of people :D ) to sample a new AV.
    Firstly, it didn't like MBAM (bad start), so I temporarily uninstalled MBAM.
    Then for the past 3 days I've had K7 I was getting BSODs on restart and shutdown, related to fltmgr.sys. I suspected K7 was causing this, as it was the only new app I'd installed, and I don't have the knowledge to look at dumps etc

    So earlier I thoroughly uninstalled K7 (including using their tool), and as a parting shot it delivered another BSOD with one of its own drivers.

    All seems fine now that it's gone. Your experience may have been different, but this AV was unusable for me.
     
  2. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    K7.?
    Thats a new one on me.:)
     
  3. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    http://www.k7computing.co.uk/compare_products.php

    Think they've been fairly widely tested (with some success) I'm trying to find some refs to tests to show...
    http://www.k7computing.co.uk/awards_certifications.php Think there's more recent tests also...

    This was the news last month about the latest version (13.1) which I tried: https://k7press.wordpress.com/2013/...f-the-k7-antivirus-and-security-product-line/
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2013
  5. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,871
    Its been tested by some of the big testing organisations which is good to see,:thumb:
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    you should have unbinstalled WSA and PF before you test K7 - two firewalls and two scanners are still NO GO same time - never heard about? too bad :D or you ask K7 support if some issue is known.
     
  7. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Yes, of course I'm aware of the usual restrictions about multiple AVs etc, however:
    K7 AV Plus doesn't have a firewall: http://www.k7computing.co.uk/compare_products.php

    and
    http://community.webroot.com/t5/Web...Regarding-Webroot-from-Third-Party/ta-p/20338
    http://community.webroot.com/t5/Web...ureAnywhere-Firewall-Compatibility/ta-p/19260

    But I do accept that ideally, yes, I should have tried K7 alone, in a VM probably, to get the clearest impression.
    But I should have been able to try it as I did....anyway, no big deal.
    K7 did seem to run pretty light it's got to be said. :)
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.