Just installed ESS and two PC's go nuts with EKRN and Microsoft Update.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by alkemyst, Jun 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alkemyst

    alkemyst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    One is the same power as another than works fine 2.x ish Celeron/384MB, the other is a 1.7Ghz P4/512MB...

    I have to disable it to get microsoft updates to work...EKRN goes to 99% CPU usage.

    I have disabled adv. heuristics, added an exception for LOG, disabled email files, and the run packs.

    Any ideas? The other 10 machines are fine (I did disable adv. heuristics though).

    I have these XP Home Edition machines updated to SP3.

    Thanks

    Å
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    Does the problem persist if you set the real-time and web protection to scan files with default extenstions instead of all files (default setting)?
     
  3. alkemyst

    alkemyst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I didn't change them....

    I did my install:

    * run the MSI I downloaded Saturday
    * select custom
    * enter user/pass from ESET
    * said no to ThreatSense.Net
    * selected Enable Detection of potentially Unwanted apps
    * auto updates
    * protected settings with a password
    * automatic firewall
    * went to advanced settings and turned off Adv Heuristics.

    I am used to custom installs, defaulting to the standard defaults unless I specifically change them. Was there something I missed?
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,411
    The thing is all files are scanned by default. Could you try setting the real-time and web protection to scan files with default extensions only to see if it makes a difference?
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2008
  5. alkemyst

    alkemyst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I will be back on their site wednesday and try first the infcache method and reinstalling.

    I downloaded the msi on wednesday last week when I started the installs...I may have gotten the bad one. The problem machines are ones I did first.

    On friday I redownloaded the msi and installed that on other machines.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.