Just Got It

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rugmankc, Jan 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Installed NOD32 and deleted AVGFree8.0.

    Like it alot. Not a computer expert, but easy to set up. Boot is twice as fast as AVG. Like the UI. Scan took the same time as AVG. But don't remember how many files AVG scanned compared to NOD32.

    Questions?

    1. Do I need ThreatSense.Net? Does, or can it, compromise my personal information, and by disabling, do I reduce NOD32's effectiveness? I read ESET's line on this, but looking for other opinions.

    2. Can you not have the ESET logo come up at bootup?


    Thanks,

    Ken
     
  2. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Have a look at this post in the tutorial on Threatsense and click on the answer links. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1162051#post1162051 To disable splash screen click on setup in top right corner of main screen and choose advanced setup then on left hand side choose user interface. The setting is there although Eset won't load any faster.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  3. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Thanks Hammer,

    Good info!

    I'll go thru the user guide and look at all the advanced settings. I think I am now set the way I want. At least for now. Is it advisable to download and scan for the EICAR file to test Real Time Protection, or is that just for consumer confidence.

    What about my second question? Is that "Show Splash Screen at StartUp" under User Interface?


    Ken
     
  4. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Solved the splash screen.

    What about downloading the EICAR test file? Do most of you do that?

    And, do I need Advanced Heuristics ticked on my options menus? It was not selected during my standard setup. My computer info is in my signature. I read the guide on it. But, no recommendations for different setups.


    Thanks for the initial help,


    Ken
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I didn't bother with the EICAR test file. I believe there are a few threads on the Advanced Heuristics.
     
  6. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Thanks Hammer,

    So far I am impressed with NOD32.


    Ken
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.